Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Inserting sleeves (Tip/Technique)
Viewed 5514 times
Review rated Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 5 people   
Posted by: regine
photo
Friend of PR
About regine star
SOUTH AFRICA
Member since: 9/26/05
Reviews written: 44
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
tips added: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 7/30/12 2:55 PM
My sewing teacher taught me to sew two parallel lines at the sleeve head by machine and then draw up the threads until the sleeve fits into the armhole. I always had trouble with this method. The other day I was putting sleeves into a tailored jacket and I hand tacked the sleeve head. I had much better control over the gathering and the sleeve fitted in perfectly.

Then I tacked the sleeve in, tried it on and then only sewed it by machine.
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site

<< Previous Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Annie- oh said...
Help, help: is hand tacking the same as hand sewing (a line for gathering)? Thanks.
7/30/12 7:00 PM
regine said...
Hello Annie, Yes it is the same.
7/31/12 0:42 AM
Annie- oh said...
This is a very helpful tip, and an addition to handsewing skills, thanks.
8/1/12 9:30 AM
regine said...
thanks Annie
8/1/12 11:33 AM
waltzqueen said...
Gee- I also hate the parallel lines method but never thought to just sew it. You're a genius!
8/2/12 1:03 PM
CeliaK said...
regine, I've been sewing for a really long time and must have had the same sewing teacher. I, too, put gathered sleeves in the way you described -- AND HAVE FOREVER. Last year, I was making 12 lined, costume jackets with gathered, set in sleeves. I just could not get the sleeves to go in. Finally, like you, I hand-basted the sleeve cap and voilá, it went in perfectly. I'm now a convert. I'll take the few extra minutes (maybe 5) and do the hand-basting. Good for us!
8/2/12 6:29 PM
regine said...
Hi Celia, I am so pleased to hear that you have had the same experience as I have. Maybe the teachers do not always have the best methods.
8/3/12 2:16 AM
cherylwashere said...
Our Home Economic teacher taught us that method many, many years ago...for me some 50 years ago. I have been using an easier method that works well for me... I do not sew up the side seams first...nor do I sew up the sleeve seam... I do sew the shoulder seams first... Now, always having right sides together... match and pin the center of the sleeve arch to the shoulder seam... match and pin the sleeve notch to the front and back section notches ... snip fabric where you need to to ease both to fit together and pin... sew the arched part of sleeve to the front and back sections... right sides together match the notches on the sleeve and pin... match front and back section notches and pin... match your sleeve edge and front and back section edges to meet and pin...match front and back sections together and pin... match sleeve edges together and pin... now sew one continuous seam from the edge of the sleeve to the edge of the front and back sections...or vice versa. Your done...so easy too.
8/3/12 10:29 AM
regine said...
Thank you Cheryl, sounds interesting, will try it next time.
8/4/12 12:26 PM
Alice said...
I have found that if you place the sleeve section on the bottom and the garment on top...the feed dogs will do the easing for you. Perhaps, another way would be to ONLY do the sleeve first w/o sewing to the garment using the method where you place an index finger behind the foot and that way the feed dog will do the easing needed....then try pinning the sleeve in place. I think I like the method Cherylwashere used but I think it needs to be re-written because it was a bit confusing to follow...it seemed repetitive in a couple of spots. Maybe a video would help, if she could do that.
8/9/12 9:56 AM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us