SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Tracing paper alternative

Viewed 6015 times
Posted by: Gigiof3
photo

 
 
About Gigiof3
Member since: 8/4/12
Reviews written: 1
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 8/4/12 1:35 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 17 people   
I've tried several paper materials for tracing my patterns, but they were either too thick, too thin, or too expensive. I was at my doctor's office one day and I asked the office manager if I could get a sample of their exam table paper. I tried it on my patterns and it worked great. Most patterns are printed dark enough that you don't have any problem seeing thru the paper. If you run across one that is too light you can go over it with a darker pen and then trace.

(I got a roll of exam table paper on eBay for $14.00 and it'll be a while before I need another roll!)

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
JeanK said...
Nancy's Notions also carries it. 'Today's price' is 8.99.
8/4/12 5:40 PM
ASiverson said...
This is a wonderful tip! TFS!
8/5/12 11:32 AM
grey ann said...
Or, if you have a surgical/medical supply store, you can pick up a case - cheaper, esp. if you can split it with a friend/s.
8/5/12 11:34 AM
Pamela R said...
I use that paper all the time, and love it. I got it at Frenches Paper in Hamilton Ont. About the same price.
8/5/12 7:42 PM
Sharon Rose said...
Have you thought about asking the secretary at your MD's office if you can buy a roll of exam paper from them. I did and they charged me only $5.
8/8/12 9:40 PM
LarryD said...
I have used this for years thank to my dear friend and sewing teacher who is now 93 years old and is still stitching.
8/26/12 10:26 AM
Passion4Sewing said...
Something similar I used was vellum paper on rolls. My ex was an engineer and they had these end rolls, like they have at news printers, that they can't use to print engineered drawings on. My ex was able to bring me lots of end-rolls. Price (for me :-) ) -$0
9/6/12 9:00 AM
Passion4Sewing said...
After reading this this morning, I was at a printing place in another city and she sold me 2 rolls of 24"x150' translucent bond paper. She gave me deal on it, and it looks like it will be great for tracing.
9/6/12 4:41 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Sewn Square One Skirt Smarts Pattern

Sewn Square One Skirt Smarts Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants

Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.