SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Tracing paper alternative

Viewed 6264 times
Posted by: Gigiof3
photo

 
 
About Gigiof3
Member since: 8/4/12
Reviews written: 1
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 8/4/12 1:35 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 17 people   
I've tried several paper materials for tracing my patterns, but they were either too thick, too thin, or too expensive. I was at my doctor's office one day and I asked the office manager if I could get a sample of their exam table paper. I tried it on my patterns and it worked great. Most patterns are printed dark enough that you don't have any problem seeing thru the paper. If you run across one that is too light you can go over it with a darker pen and then trace.

(I got a roll of exam table paper on eBay for $14.00 and it'll be a while before I need another roll!)

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Passion4Sewing said...
After reading this this morning, I was at a printing place in another city and she sold me 2 rolls of 24"x150' translucent bond paper. She gave me deal on it, and it looks like it will be great for tracing.
9/6/12 4:41 PM
Passion4Sewing said...
Something similar I used was vellum paper on rolls. My ex was an engineer and they had these end rolls, like they have at news printers, that they can't use to print engineered drawings on. My ex was able to bring me lots of end-rolls. Price (for me :-) ) -$0
9/6/12 9:00 AM
LarryD said...
I have used this for years thank to my dear friend and sewing teacher who is now 93 years old and is still stitching.
8/26/12 10:26 AM
Sharon Rose said...
Have you thought about asking the secretary at your MD's office if you can buy a roll of exam paper from them. I did and they charged me only $5.
8/8/12 9:40 PM
Pamela R said...
I use that paper all the time, and love it. I got it at Frenches Paper in Hamilton Ont. About the same price.
8/5/12 7:42 PM
grey ann said...
Or, if you have a surgical/medical supply store, you can pick up a case - cheaper, esp. if you can split it with a friend/s.
8/5/12 11:34 AM
ASiverson said...
This is a wonderful tip! TFS!
8/5/12 11:32 AM
JeanK said...
Nancy's Notions also carries it. 'Today's price' is 8.99.
8/4/12 5:40 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Victory Anouk Paper Pattern

Victory Anouk Paper Pattern

More Info
SewBaby Fleece-Easy Baby Wardrobe Pattern

SewBaby Fleece-Easy Baby Wardrobe Pattern

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.