SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Pattern Storage

Viewed 7336 times
Posted by: Pj3g
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Pj3g star
WI USA
Member since: 2/14/11
Reviews written: 41
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 14 people
tips added: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 8/29/12 8:17 PM
Last Updated: 3/29/13 10:14 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 20 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Others before me have had good ideas for pattern storage. Here's one more that works great for me:

Sterilite Legal/Letter File Boxes cost $6.97 at Walmart and are located in the office supply area of the store--not by all the other storage bins. These bins hold 2 rows of sewing patterns perfectly. And the larger size patterns like Jalie, Style Arc or downloadable patterns fit perfectly too if they are turned sideways. You can see pictures of them here I have six bins all organized by category and company name, and patterns are in numbered order. It is so nice to be able to locate a pattern quickly.

The boxes have flat lids so stack nicely. The lid is made so the bottom of one box fits in a ridge around the edge of the lid which is good because you won't ever cave in or crack a lid due to the weight of bins stacked on each other. And with the flat lid they can be stored nicely on a shelf too. I have over 80 patterns in the bins pictured and still have wiggle room to look through the patterns. The sides of these boxes are straight up as opposed to the sloping sides of regular storage bins, so I think that's why they work so well for patterns. Also, there is a comfortable molded in handle beneath the two lengthwise top edges.

Unfortunately, the bins are not available for home delivery. They can only be bought online and picked up at the store or simply bought at a Walmart store. However, I feel sure the same size clear Legal/Letter File boxes could be found at any office supply store too. They really are the perfect size for patterns but just make sure you are buying the 'Legal' Letter size file box, not the regular size letter file box.

Related review on the bags I use for patterns

Update on 11-12-12:
I was at 2 different Walmarts lately. The legal letter file bins I bought from Walmart and use are clear with black lids. I've now noticed they sometimes have a smokey color too. But just in case Walmart stops carrying them altogether be sure to look at any office supply store. With a quick search I found these at Staples






<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
LynnG said...
Great idea!
8/30/12 10:06 AM
Mirza said...
Thank you! I have mine in the 11 quart sterilizes but could not fit Jalie's and other larger one in those. I see some reorganization coming soon!
8/31/12 12:59 PM
kadytheredpanda said...
Thank you! I'll look for them next time I'm at Walmart!
8/31/12 9:43 PM
Batik said...
Nice tip!
9/2/12 6:42 PM
Kelly D. said...
Thanks for the tip, I converted my pattern collection to these and at $5 per, they were a bargain. I cleaned out my local Walmart, hope no one else nearby has to organize their patterns/files any time soon!
1/3/14 10:27 AM
nicegirl said...
Thank you for the tip! I am looking to reorganize my patterns and this is the best solution I've seen so far.
5/7/14 9:03 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern

You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 651 Pattern

Petite Plus 651 Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.