Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
sewing room makeover (Tip/Technique)
Viewed 5197 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 3 people   
Posted by: SewingSusan
photo
About SewingSusan star
KY USA
Member since: 2/2/03
Reviews written: 40
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 11/20/03 7:08 AM
Web site/URL: photo
HGTV aired an episode of Mission Organization last night which featured a sewing studio 're-do'. Some of the tips were fantastic! This program will be aired again a few times, check the listings on the website.

One tip included putting the fabric stash into cardboard file storage boxes and on the outside of each box a small plastic sleeve displayed a swatch of the fabric so at a glance you know what's inside. A corresponding notebook contains the same swatches with a listing of the fabrics content, quantity, and any other notes on projects done with the fabric, etc.

Great show.
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!

<< Previous Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mary Reed said...
Yikes, CARD BOARD IS BAD FOR FABRIC. It is made of acid paper can and WILL stain or discolor fabric. How do I know? By having it happen to me*. Be very careful with your fabric stash, it represents both time and money you have invested in this fabulous hobby. Personally, I use Rubber Maid bins mad a few years ago with a "scent box" that I fill with desicant (A substance, such as calcium oxide or silica gel, that has a high affinity for water and is used as a drying agent. You know the things you find in viatimin jars that say "Do not eat.") I have successful stored 600 lbs of fabric this way (I am a costumer for non-profit theatres) with good luck. *I was given a 500 yard stash from a widower of a sewer - 1/3 of the fabric was unusable because it had been stored in cardboard boxes or stored incorrectly - in the sun, in a basement etc.
11/20/03 12:01 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Mary, I too think the RubberMaid bins are a better idea. They do not attract bugs as boxes often do plus, in the event of water damage, your fabric is safe.
11/20/03 2:28 PM
Sew it seams said...
Thanks Susan, for this review. I checked out this site and put it in my favorites. It has a lot of good information.
11/21/03 9:14 AM
Stitchology said...
ITA with Mary Reed. Bad, bad idea. Since HGTV has gotten rid of almost all its sewing content they have nobody knowledgeable involved in this.
11/21/03 9:16 AM
lhstitcher said...
I saw part of that episode, after the cardboard box solution, I lost interest. I too sort my stash in clear plastic bins, which are stored in white wire baskets in a frame. DH's idea, some of the best money ever spent, I can literally see at a glance what I need. I also miss the sewing shows, I'm not a quilter, but have picked up some excellent ideas that can be used in garments and other creative sewing projects.
11/21/03 3:55 PM
ClareinStitches said...
Thanks Susan. I hadn't heard of this HGTV show in the UK, so a makeover for a sewist is interesting. Thankyou also for the comments from other folks. I use lidded plastic boxes of all sizes to store and protect my fabric stash, but hadn't appreciated the harm cardboard shoeboxes might be doing to my smaller bits and trimmings.
11/23/03 9:15 AM
Mini said...
I agree about never ever putting good fabric in cardboard! !!! I use archival paper or plastic to store my artwork and photos-and my best fabrics too. If your fabric is very delicate or valuable, you can also wrap it large sheets of acid-free paper, which is available from most of the online art supply catalogs. It is inexpensive, and can protect your fabrics from chemical interactions with most storage materials. For general fabric storage I bought commercial duty wire shelving from Office Depot: it is cheap, space efficient, easy to move ( and doesn't look too ugly either.) I store the fabric in large, lidded clear plastic tubs arranged on the shelves so that everything is visible. Not only is the fabric protected, I can see what I have so nothing gets forgotten. I have all my patterns, notions, sewing machine attachments etc. in clear plastic too.
11/23/03 12:20 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Thanks everyone for the great tip about the plastic Rubbermaid bins!! You saved my growing fabric stash from a reoccurring moth problem!! Finally, it is under control. (the moths and the stash)
12/7/03 8:22 PM
Carolg said...
Help, after reading everything everyone has said I now do know what I should do. I started storing all my fabric on fabric bolts that I got from the fabric store. I now able to see everything at a glance but is this going to be harmful to my fabric? Some of it has to be stored for quite a few years since I plan to use it for school dresses for my 8 month old daughter. Can all of you sewers tell me what I should do? Want to keep fabric nice.
1/10/04 5:48 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Carol, I, personally, would not use cardboard bolts for long-term storage. You could, instead, flat-fold your fabric and tag one selvage with fiber content/care/etc. I like to use a tagging gun since I worry about staples rusting over time. Since I have a huge stash (four figures but we won't go there!) I cut a small square and glue it onto a form I've made which has space to list yardage, width, fiber content and other any information. I store the pages in 3-ring binders sorted by fabric type (knits, suitings, bottom weights, etc.). This is great for planning projects because I can sit down on the couch with my entire stash and not have to mess up my sewing room closet. Fabrics are sorted by color in the closet so I'm able to quickly find a particular piece.
1/11/04 10:44 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Carol, I did a search and found Deepika's fabric organization form: http://sewing.patternreview.com/cgi-bin/review/readreview.pl?readreview=1&ID=47 - sorry, I don't know how to actually make it a link but you can copy and paste it into your browser.
1/11/04 10:47 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
I agree with Gigi on storage with one small exception - velvets should be stored on bolts, to prevent creasing. -Ann
1/11/04 1:52 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Good point, Ann although I prefer to hang mine (don't have that many) - I just put several big safety pins through the selvage and onto a pant hanger.
1/11/04 3:12 PM
Carolg said...
Thanks everyone I must have had a brain dead moment since I never thought of just folding the fabric as if it was on the bolt. I don't have extra closet space to hang fabric would it hurt to keep velvet and corduroy on the bolts for any length of time? I have two extra special corduroy pieces I want to keep perfect. Thanks for all the help.
1/11/04 9:45 PM
cwnash71 said...
Thank you for posting this!! I'm in the process of converting a small room into a sewing studio and needed ideas. I was afraid I wouldn't be able to find the video online but took a chance and found it! Just googled hgtv mission organization and then on their site searched "sewing studio redo" and the video popped up along with 5 others!!
7/25/12 1:50 PM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us