Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Picture Tutorial: Binding with Perfection (Tip/Technique)
Viewed 5652 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 12 people   
Posted by: sewingsilly
photo
About sewingsilly star
FL USA
Member since: 1/29/10
Reviews written: 53
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 9 people
tips added: 19
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/30/13 5:38 PM
Web site/URL: photo
Binding done well can give a professionally finished look to any project, however it can be difficult to achieve an even uniform look. Pushing or pulling the bias while sewing can end up looking horrible!! (dare I say, "homemade") I have a technique that works like a charm.
I hope you find this tutorial helpful.
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site

<< Previous Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Scheri said...
Thank you
1/31/13 1:35 AM
ChristmasHills said...
That sounds really interesting and I'm going to give it a try for sure. Thanks for sharing.
1/31/13 2:19 AM
sewsally said...
Why is the fusible interfacing 1/8" wider than the binding?
1/31/13 10:58 AM
sewingsilly said...
It's 1/8" wider so the binding overlaps the seam on the inside and can be stitched in the ditch.
1/31/13 11:28 AM
purplebouquet said...
Your finished neckline looks great and I am intrigued by your method. Thank you for taking the time to demonstrate your technique. I have a couple of questions, please. Why do you staystitch if you're also using interfacing? I thought one replaced the other. Could the stitching of the interfacing serve as staystitching at the same time? Have you tried using interfacing that can be fused on both sides so you wouldn't have to stitch it into place? And finally, do you think you could use bias fusible tape instead of creating a "facing"? That would be a bit faster. I sound as if I am interrogating you, but I don't mean to do that. Just honestly curious and eager to learn more. Thank you.
1/31/13 12:26 PM
sewingsilly said...
Thanks for your questions purplebouquet. This is my method, you may choose to modify it where ever you would like to suit your own needs, however I'm happy to address each of your questions. 1. You may replace the interfacing with the staystitching providing you use a bonded interfacing without stretch. 2. I would not use a craft fusible as a fusible facing. Could add too much bulk or make the needle gummy. 3. Using a bias fusible tape would allow the neckline to stretch which is what your trying to avoid. Making my own facing that is exactly the same as my neckline shape keeps it exactly in shape. I like that I got you thinking about ways to possibly modify my method. I would love to hear you give your ideas a try and let me know how it works out.
1/31/13 12:38 PM
Carlamari said...
Thank you for sharing this - I am going to give it a try
1/31/13 6:56 PM
seweibhlin said...
terrific
2/1/13 9:22 AM
purplebouquet said...
Sewingsilly, I wanted to post back on a couple of modifications I made, but first I want to express my thanks to you again for sharing your wisdom with your detailed tutorial. It was very helpful. Here are the two changes I made: I fused fusible interfacing, rather than stitching it on. Then, later in the process, I used double-sided fusible tape, http://www.voguefabricsstore.com/Design-Plus-Ultra-Soft-Double-Sided-Fusible-By-L.J.-Designs.html, to "baste" the folded-over bias binding in place. That held it much better than pins and looked cleaner, but added no body or bulkiness. Again, thanks for sharing your technique.
3/5/13 2:25 PM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us