SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Cleaning lint from sergers

Viewed 5758 times
Posted by: Brine
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Brine star
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 25
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
tips added: 20
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 2/1/13 10:08 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 25 people   
I have found that the easiest and most efficient way to clean the lint from my serger is to use a pipe cleaner. Because the pipe cleaner is long and flexible it can go into those difficult to reach spaces and the lint will adhere to it for removal. I was amazed to see how much it would pick up.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
LynneH said...
I used a blow dryer once. When I was in a hurry. Have to try a pipe cleaner next time.
2/16/13 6:50 PM
SavageCoco said...
I use canned air combined with a pipe cleaner. Thanks!
2/4/13 9:15 PM
ASiverson said...
Very clever and practical. Thank you so very much for sharing this. I would never have thought of it.
2/2/13 9:05 PM
elsew said...
Great tip. I was wondering how I was going to get into all those tiny places. Thanks for sharing.
2/2/13 10:32 AM
Sewnla said...
What a great idea. I was cleaning my serger with the tiny little brush wishing there was a way I could clean it better. Thanks
2/2/13 9:38 AM
ktsews2 said...
Clever and practical........thanks !
2/2/13 9:18 AM
Pj3g said...
How clever!
2/2/13 8:59 AM
nitsel said...
What a good idea! I even have some pipe cleaners left from a project done when my kids were little--many years ago. I knew I'd find a good use for them! Thanks for sharing this.
2/2/13 0:09 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Sewing Workshop Origami Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Origami Skirt Pattern

More Info
Summer Tote

Summer Tote

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.