SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Cleaning lint from sergers

Viewed 5712 times
Posted by: Brine
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Brine star
IL USA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 25
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
tips added: 20
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 2/1/13 10:08 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 25 people   
I have found that the easiest and most efficient way to clean the lint from my serger is to use a pipe cleaner. Because the pipe cleaner is long and flexible it can go into those difficult to reach spaces and the lint will adhere to it for removal. I was amazed to see how much it would pick up.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
nitsel said...
What a good idea! I even have some pipe cleaners left from a project done when my kids were little--many years ago. I knew I'd find a good use for them! Thanks for sharing this.
2/2/13 0:09 AM
Pj3g said...
How clever!
2/2/13 8:59 AM
ktsews2 said...
Clever and practical........thanks !
2/2/13 9:18 AM
Sewnla said...
What a great idea. I was cleaning my serger with the tiny little brush wishing there was a way I could clean it better. Thanks
2/2/13 9:38 AM
elsew said...
Great tip. I was wondering how I was going to get into all those tiny places. Thanks for sharing.
2/2/13 10:32 AM
ASiverson said...
Very clever and practical. Thank you so very much for sharing this. I would never have thought of it.
2/2/13 9:05 PM
SavageCoco said...
I use canned air combined with a pipe cleaner. Thanks!
2/4/13 9:15 PM
LynneH said...
I used a blow dryer once. When I was in a hurry. Have to try a pipe cleaner next time.
2/16/13 6:50 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

J Stern Designs Ribbon Skirt Pattern

J Stern Designs Ribbon Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.