SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Class Reviews > Craftsy-- Beginner Serging: Machine Basics and Techniques

Viewed 6313 times
Posted by: knitsewmuch
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About knitsewmuch star
VA USA
Member since: 10/31/08
Reviews written: 46
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 19 people
classes reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 3/4/13 9:48 PM
Rating: starstarstar
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people   Very Helpful by 16 people   
Web site/URL: photo
I've owned my serger for a number of years and until this class, only used it for finishing seams. I am so glad I took this class. It begins with an overview of the serger parts and accessories. Then the instructor shows you step by step how to thread a serger for different stitches. The lessons also include 3 and 4 thread overlock, rolled hem stitch, 2 and 3 thread flatlocking as well as tips for using decorative threads and yarn. There is also a troubleshooting segment and a short segment on specialty serger feet. I was very pleased with the knowledge I gained by taking this class. I am no longer intimidated by my serger. In fact, I just completed my first garment that was completely sewn on the serger.

The projects for the class include a zippered box bag, a scarf and a ruffled apron.

I highly recommend this class for new serger owners and as a refresher for those who have owned their serger for years.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Sewing Class Review    Read All Sewing Class Reviews


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Christy Woodbridge said... (10/4/13 5:23 PM) Reply
Recently enrolled in this class after reading positive reviews and descriptions of other more difficult/advanced classes. I think this will be a good class to improve and advance my serging skills.
Christy Woodbridge said... (10/4/13 5:14 PM) Reply
BEGINNER SERGING - CRAFTSY
Sunflower2499 said... (5/19/13 11:14 AM) Reply
Took class and I found the instructor to be quite enjoyable. Much information that I enjoyed!
pat303 said... (3/25/13 8:51 AM) Reply
I did not take this class but there is a new one called Creative Serging by Craftsy.. Anyone take this and what do you think
pat303 said... (3/25/13 8:15 AM) Reply
I did not take this class but there is a new one called Creative Serging by Craftsy.. Anyone take this and what do you think
seeRsew said... (3/6/13 12:25 PM) Reply
I bought this class but have been leery of starting it as my serger is still in the box, but it sounds like a winner. Thanks for the review!
WasabiZee said... (3/5/13 4:26 PM) Reply
Just started this class, thank you for your review.
ASiverson said... (3/5/13 10:03 AM) Reply
I too am taking this class, though I have serged together a wonderful t-shirt I usually only serge together seams. TFS!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

SewBaby Easy to Sew Baby Layette Pattern

SewBaby Easy to Sew Baby Layette Pattern

Pattern Details
Favorite Things Uptown Coat Pattern

Favorite Things Uptown Coat Pattern

Pattern Details

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2015 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.