SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Don't throw out that old scanner!!!

Viewed 6233 times
Posted by: cherylwashere
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About cherylwashere star
United States
Member since: 4/10/04
Reviews written: 4
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
tips added: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 3/27/13 11:09 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 14 people   
I took an old scanner from a prehistortic computer system we had laying around and converted it into a LIGHT BOX. I removed the glass top portion of the scanner from the base... It required a not so gentle hand...but I was determined to get it opened. Once opened I removed all the inner guts...it was messy but had to be done. A few snips to remove some excess plastic to have the space needed for the lighting source...and what to use for the lighting source??? After trying several things...even a string of Christmas tree lights...thumbs down on that one. The winner is a 13" portable under the cabinet lamp... It took 3 to lightup the glass area. I am searching for another lighting source...the cords on 3 lamps are cumbersome hanging from the light box...so for now this does work for me. I taped a 9"x12" sheet of tracing paper to the underside of the glass and presto...my new light box works perfectly. I can trace a design on to my fabric skipping the freezer paper pattern...

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
cherylwashere said...
I recently updated my light box using the bright white LED lighting strip...strip has a sticky backing...just peel off paper. I cut white foam board to fit inside the bottom of the scanner and attached the strip lighting to it. The light strip came with a plugin attachment. I also purchased a battery pack and an electric power source to attach to the light strip plugin... Now I can be portable or stationery... I cut a piece of white foam board...peeled the paper off on both sides and taped it to the underside of the glass as a diffuser... Works great!!!
9/28/14 4:12 AM
Demetria said...
LED or CFL lights would probably the best options. LED bulbs are really small, bright, last a very long time while CFL are very bright, project very little heat, are low wattage thus use very little power, also last a very long time. www.instructables.com is a really good website to try for ideas. I just found www.thingiverse.com & there is also http://makezine.com. All of those sites also have sewing stuff as well!
8/1/13 1:06 AM
cherylwashere said...
Hi Goodworks1, The manufacturer is Lights Of America, Linkable Fluorescent Undercabinet Portable Light, 8 Watts and 13 inch length. I purchased the lights at Walmart @ 9.97 each and the replacement blub is 7.97
3/29/13 0:19 AM
goodworks1 said...
I'd like more info on the type of lights you are using. Wattage? Are they LED or fluorescent? Maybe a link to an example. This is a great idea!
3/28/13 1:49 PM
cjsews said...
Great idea! I have purchased a box of lights that are all battery operated, about 5 inches across, about 1/1/2" high. They are meant to be for emergency lighting--like a flashlight in a round disk! They could be used easily for a light source for your needs. I am using a shadowbox frame that I bought at a craft store and works fine for my purposes but recycling a scanner is a wonderful idea!
3/28/13 9:24 AM
cherylwashere said...
Hi ksgentry, I did place a piece of heavy duty aluminum foil on the floor of the scanner and thought 2 lights would be enough...but it wasn't. 3 lights, lights it up perfectly. Let me know if your technique works for you... Thank you, Cheryl
3/27/13 5:08 PM
ksgentry said...
Love your idea for the light box. I have an old scanner that I just knew would come in handy for something. Now you have given it new life. I was thinking that perhaps using three light fixtures I would try and experiment with aluminum foil inside to get the light to reflect better and possible decrease the light fixtures needed.
3/27/13 1:43 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Sewing Workshop Balboa Shirt & Topper

Sewing Workshop Balboa Shirt & Topper

Buy Now
Sassy Bag

Sassy Bag

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.