SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Don't throw out that old scanner!!!

Viewed 6207 times
Posted by: cherylwashere
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About cherylwashere star
United States
Member since: 4/10/04
Reviews written: 4
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
tips added: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 3/27/13 11:09 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 14 people   
I took an old scanner from a prehistortic computer system we had laying around and converted it into a LIGHT BOX. I removed the glass top portion of the scanner from the base... It required a not so gentle hand...but I was determined to get it opened. Once opened I removed all the inner guts...it was messy but had to be done. A few snips to remove some excess plastic to have the space needed for the lighting source...and what to use for the lighting source??? After trying several things...even a string of Christmas tree lights...thumbs down on that one. The winner is a 13" portable under the cabinet lamp... It took 3 to lightup the glass area. I am searching for another lighting source...the cords on 3 lamps are cumbersome hanging from the light box...so for now this does work for me. I taped a 9"x12" sheet of tracing paper to the underside of the glass and presto...my new light box works perfectly. I can trace a design on to my fabric skipping the freezer paper pattern...

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
cherylwashere said...
I recently updated my light box using the bright white LED lighting strip...strip has a sticky backing...just peel off paper. I cut white foam board to fit inside the bottom of the scanner and attached the strip lighting to it. The light strip came with a plugin attachment. I also purchased a battery pack and an electric power source to attach to the light strip plugin... Now I can be portable or stationery... I cut a piece of white foam board...peeled the paper off on both sides and taped it to the underside of the glass as a diffuser... Works great!!!
9/28/14 4:12 AM
Demetria said...
LED or CFL lights would probably the best options. LED bulbs are really small, bright, last a very long time while CFL are very bright, project very little heat, are low wattage thus use very little power, also last a very long time. www.instructables.com is a really good website to try for ideas. I just found www.thingiverse.com & there is also http://makezine.com. All of those sites also have sewing stuff as well!
8/1/13 1:06 AM
cherylwashere said...
Hi Goodworks1, The manufacturer is Lights Of America, Linkable Fluorescent Undercabinet Portable Light, 8 Watts and 13 inch length. I purchased the lights at Walmart @ 9.97 each and the replacement blub is 7.97
3/29/13 0:19 AM
goodworks1 said...
I'd like more info on the type of lights you are using. Wattage? Are they LED or fluorescent? Maybe a link to an example. This is a great idea!
3/28/13 1:49 PM
cjsews said...
Great idea! I have purchased a box of lights that are all battery operated, about 5 inches across, about 1/1/2" high. They are meant to be for emergency lighting--like a flashlight in a round disk! They could be used easily for a light source for your needs. I am using a shadowbox frame that I bought at a craft store and works fine for my purposes but recycling a scanner is a wonderful idea!
3/28/13 9:24 AM
cherylwashere said...
Hi ksgentry, I did place a piece of heavy duty aluminum foil on the floor of the scanner and thought 2 lights would be enough...but it wasn't. 3 lights, lights it up perfectly. Let me know if your technique works for you... Thank you, Cheryl
3/27/13 5:08 PM
ksgentry said...
Love your idea for the light box. I have an old scanner that I just knew would come in handy for something. Now you have given it new life. I was thinking that perhaps using three light fixtures I would try and experiment with aluminum foil inside to get the light to reflect better and possible decrease the light fixtures needed.
3/27/13 1:43 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern

Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern

More Info
Paradiso Designs Perfect Pillows Pattern

Paradiso Designs Perfect Pillows Pattern

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.