SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Padstitching

Viewed 5342 times
Posted by: Rennie Ashby
photo

 
 
About Rennie Ashby starstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 4/8/02
UnVerified member
Reviews written: 108
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 62 people
tips added: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 11/24/03 8:32 AM
Review Rating: Needs More Info by 3 people   
Web site/URL: photo
No time for hand padstitching? If you own a blindhemmer you can do invisible padstitching with it. (See Photo) If not, padstitching can be done by machine stitching rows.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
GorgeousFabrics said...
Rennie, it sounds like a wonderful idea. Can you explain more about the flind hemmer? Is there a certain technique?
11/24/03 12:31 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Ann, a true blindstitch machine like the one that Rennie has uses a curved needle so you can stitch rows of padstitching just catching a thread of the fashion fabric - very similar to hand padstitching. I have the same machine as Rennie and I couldn't live without it.
11/24/03 8:59 PM
Rennie Ashby said...
Gorgeous Things, Gigi and I have the Tacsew 500. See it here I bought mine from George the Crafty Stitcher in Las Vegas for less than Allbrands shows here but that's been years ago. It's a hardy but portable semi-industrial machine that will always be a part of my sewing room. I don't use it every time I sew but when I do it saves ton's of time.
11/25/03 8:51 AM
jackson1 said...
Thanks, this is an excellent tip. I also own the tacsew 500. I have tailored numerous blazers, but never thought to use my blind hemmer for pad stitching. Therefore, I opt to use fusible interfacing.
11/26/03 11:42 AM
jovani said...
i haven't get an answer on how use my sewing machine to learn how to sew
6/20/04 1:37 PM
Rennie Ashby said...
Jackson 1, if you look at the photo there is a triangular piece of weft interfacing on the lapel to the roll line. Straight of grain is on the roll line. This is in addition to the entire front piece being fused with interfacing. Jovani, would love to help you but not clear what help you need. What kind of machine to you have? What type of sewing are you looking to do? What is your sewing level currently?
6/21/04 6:36 AM
purplelion said...
This is exactly what I'm interested in but photo wouldn't display. If I could've viewed photo I would have rated Very Helpful. Thanks
7/7/06 1:11 PM
marykpfist said...
Your photo's are no longer linked-- I would love to see this :-)
8/13/08 8:09 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

J Stern Designs Top with two collars and a Peplum Pattern

J Stern Designs Top with two collars and a Peplum Pattern

Buy Now
Fanny Pack or Purse

Fanny Pack or Purse

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.