SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Padstitching

Viewed 5433 times
Posted by: Rennie Ashby
photo

 
 
About Rennie Ashby starstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 4/8/02
UnVerified member
Reviews written: 108
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 62 people
tips added: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 11/24/03 8:32 AM
Review Rating: Needs More Info by 3 people   
Web site/URL: photo
No time for hand padstitching? If you own a blindhemmer you can do invisible padstitching with it. (See Photo) If not, padstitching can be done by machine stitching rows.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
marykpfist said...
Your photo's are no longer linked-- I would love to see this :-)
8/13/08 8:09 PM
purplelion said...
This is exactly what I'm interested in but photo wouldn't display. If I could've viewed photo I would have rated Very Helpful. Thanks
7/7/06 1:11 PM
Rennie Ashby said...
Jackson 1, if you look at the photo there is a triangular piece of weft interfacing on the lapel to the roll line. Straight of grain is on the roll line. This is in addition to the entire front piece being fused with interfacing. Jovani, would love to help you but not clear what help you need. What kind of machine to you have? What type of sewing are you looking to do? What is your sewing level currently?
6/21/04 6:36 AM
jovani said...
i haven't get an answer on how use my sewing machine to learn how to sew
6/20/04 1:37 PM
jackson1 said...
Thanks, this is an excellent tip. I also own the tacsew 500. I have tailored numerous blazers, but never thought to use my blind hemmer for pad stitching. Therefore, I opt to use fusible interfacing.
11/26/03 11:42 AM
Rennie Ashby said...
Gorgeous Things, Gigi and I have the Tacsew 500. See it here I bought mine from George the Crafty Stitcher in Las Vegas for less than Allbrands shows here but that's been years ago. It's a hardy but portable semi-industrial machine that will always be a part of my sewing room. I don't use it every time I sew but when I do it saves ton's of time.
11/25/03 8:51 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Ann, a true blindstitch machine like the one that Rennie has uses a curved needle so you can stitch rows of padstitching just catching a thread of the fashion fabric - very similar to hand padstitching. I have the same machine as Rennie and I couldn't live without it.
11/24/03 8:59 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Rennie, it sounds like a wonderful idea. Can you explain more about the flind hemmer? Is there a certain technique?
11/24/03 12:31 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Victory Nicola Paper Pattern

Victory Nicola Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Candice

Candice

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.