SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Reverse Binding

Viewed 1774 times
Posted by: Pj3g
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Pj3g star
WI USA
Member since: 2/14/11
Reviews written: 41
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 15 people
tips added: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 4/16/13 3:18 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 13 people   
Web site/URL: photo
If you sew, you know the pain I felt. I was making these 4 tanks for my 4 grandchildren to wear beneath fleece pullovers I made for them. Each tank had 3 bindings for neck and armholes. I did great keeping track of each binding and which shirt each belonged to. But I guess after you serge and sew 11 bindings you get careless. Anyway, after I put on the final binding I realized I serged it on the outside of the tank.

Well, after some cursing......and then carefully considering all my options I simply folded the binding over the serged edge and stitched it down. It actually looks nice as you can see here on the neckline of the top tank I even like it better than the other bindings! And I do believe I've seen this type of bound edge before--maybe on baby clothes? Anyway, this type of reverse binding attachment leaves the inside of the garment smooth against the skin which is very nice.

So, what I thought was a bad situation turned out not to be because I learned how to put binding on another neat way and now you do too! It's all good!

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


12 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
GrammaDestiny said...
Glad I never learned the first technique you used because I like the second technique even better! Looks very finished and sounds like it is pretty boo-boo proof too.
6/7/13 4:55 PM
quathy said...
Nice! It's so simple, but I would never have thought of it. As it happens, I'm making tees this month - great timing! Thanks for the tip!
4/24/13 2:29 AM
JillyBe said...
I love the look of this! Will have to remember it :)
4/19/13 4:53 PM
Pj3g said...
Laurie--so glad you understood and let me know too!! I know I am going to use this again myself as I like it that much!
4/17/13 3:45 PM
Laurie Lou said...
Pj3g...thanks. I just needed a bit more clarification...This looks very tidy ... I'll be doing a bound neckline and will do this instead. Very slick. indeed.
4/17/13 2:44 PM
Pj3g said...
Laurie, another way to imagine this is to look at the neckline where you can see the serged edge. Now imagine taking the binding and folding it down over the stitching you see. Then stitching it down on a SM. Goodness I am hoping this is helping because I think it makes a neat edge.
4/17/13 2:24 PM
Pj3g said...
Sure Laurie--on all the bindings I pinned them to the outside of the tops and serged them on which made the serged edges on the inside of the tops.Then I topstitched around on the outside close to the seam line to hold that serged edge flat. However, on the one I did wrong I had accidently pinned the binding to the inside of the shirt which made that serged edge be on the outside of the shirt. So I folded the binding over on top of the serged edge and stitched it down. Does this help?
4/17/13 2:17 PM
Laurie Lou said...
Could I have a little more description of how you did it in error. I think I need more detail. Thanks. :)
4/17/13 1:31 PM
Karine said...
Brilliant!
4/17/13 9:06 AM
Tarrbaby said...
Love this! Paradigm shift!
4/17/13 7:29 AM
Fran G said...
very cool!
4/17/13 6:15 AM
AtiyaAfi said...
Nice. I like. I always say, make it work and you'll be surprised what will turn out to be something really nice. You just had an opportunity to be innovative and design something unique.
4/16/13 4:59 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern

SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern

More Info
Maggie

Maggie

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.