SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Most tape measures are 5/8" wide!

Viewed 1207 times
Posted by: Tina Rathbone
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Tina Rathbone star
CA USA
Member since: 9/16/02
Reviews written: 20
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 10 people
tips added: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 4/18/13 4:50 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 15 people   
I had no idea, but most tape measures are 5/8" wide, making it so much easier to add standard commercial pattern seam allowances when tissue fitting or otherwise trying to mark patterns.

Newsflash!
You might have already known this, but I truly am so happy to learn this.
Hugs,
Tina in San Diego
my blog: Artelicious, www.tina-rathbone.blogspot.com

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
AllNewtoMe said...
I didn't know this and shared it at my pattern drafting class--nobody else knew it either! I just used this tip when fitting a commercial pattern.
6/8/13 9:28 AM
NanJones said...
Count me in as one who DIDN'T know. Do much for "everybody knows this". If you have an idea or suggestion that you think "everybody knows", post it ANYWAY. You never know....
5/16/13 12:49 PM
Laurie Lou said...
DUH!!! OMG...when I read this I realized I had bought one of those dual tracing weels and as I read this I realized using the tape measure along the seam would be so much quicker than the way I was doing it with the tracing paper. This was a great AH Ha moment ...more so than you know for me. thanks!
4/23/13 3:34 PM
tigergirl said...
Very handy!! I'll have to check mine (I know some of the cheapos are narrower than others)
4/20/13 7:41 AM
Barbara Allino said...
Thanks so much. I had no idea either. This is very useful knowledge.
4/19/13 2:48 PM
Tina Rathbone said...
Yay! I hesitated to post this, thinking that surely everyone on Earth already knew it, but I figured if I could help even one other person with this info, well, who cares if I look foolish! :)
4/18/13 8:00 PM
Pj3g said...
I did not know this either!
4/18/13 5:59 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Sew Chic Southern Belle Dress Pattern (ln8503)

Sew Chic Southern Belle Dress Pattern (ln8503)

More Info
Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt

Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.