SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Class Reviews > Craftsy The Classic Tailored Shirt

Viewed 1807 times
Posted by: BrendaJoyce
Friend of PR

About BrendaJoyce star
Member since: 2/11/12
Reviews: 38 (classes: 8)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 4/22/13 7:45 PM
Rating: starstarstar
Review Rating: Helpful by 8 people   Very Helpful by 13 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Now this was a class I could sink my teeth into. Pam Howard is a very good teacher, goes into all aspects of crafting a tailored shirt. Also, I liked the fact that she wore tailored shirts throughout the class. I really liked the lessons on flat-felled seams, collars and bands, and the sleeve plackets, things that I've had trouble with. Another thing I really, really liked about her class is that she's very clear about how sewing should be fun, not stress inducing. As she says, it's not about achieving world peace, it's a shirt. That's something that I constantly have to tell myself when I get frustrated, but I always say, "it's not brain surgery, nobody is gonna die if I mess up, so calm down." This may sound silly but I do appreciate it if someone's hands are being shown up close that they have clean, manicured nails, which Pam does. No polish but nails buffed to a high shine, nothing to distract from watching the intricate, close up details. Pam has a lovely way of speaking, I adore her soothing voice. I can't recommend this class highly enough!

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles

Fabrics for Greater Ideas

O! Jolly! Shop

Sweater Knit Fabrics

Amulet Swim Fabrics

Poly/PBT swimwear fabric
Web site

Add Sewing Class Review    Read All Sewing Class Reviews

Login to Add a Comment    
jill1550 said... (12/15/13 8:53 PM) Reply
I just finished this class. My shirt is perfect--thanks to Pam. She is the best sewing teacher!
eirenep said... (9/7/13 4:39 PM) Reply
I am halfway in the class right now and I completely agree with the review. Pam Howard is very clear in her explanations and leaves no "gaps" in the process. She speaks very calmly, which to some people is a drawback, but to me is reassuring. I think this is an excellent clas.
pammieh said... (6/16/13 2:37 PM) Reply
I am taking the class now and find it quite extensively wonderful - I agree with her soothing and calm instructional style!
hopflower said... (5/28/13 11:28 AM) Reply
I, too , want to take this class. Her approach and education are well worth noting, and I am sure it will be very advantageous to take this lesson.
Learn To Sew said... (4/28/13 8:00 PM) Reply
I have plans to take this class soon. I look forward to those close ups for detalis. Thanks for the review.
Tricia Plummer said... (4/27/13 10:39 PM) Reply
I have signed up for this class and can't wait to take it. I have Sarah's class in pants fitting first on my agenda and the Tailored Shirt will follow. Thanks for the review. I'm glad you liked the class!
rtrittel said... (4/23/13 12:21 PM) Reply
Isn't Pam a delight? I thoroughly enjoyed the class as well. Thanks for your review.
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Lazy Girl Designs Slicker Tote Paper Pattern

Lazy Girl Designs Slicker Tote Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
8 inch Dressmaking Shears

8 inch Dressmaking Shears

Pattern Details

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2015® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.