SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Class Reviews > Craftsy "The Ultimate T-Shirt" with Katherine and Marcy Tilton

Viewed 1753 times
Posted by: AdaH
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About AdaH star
IA USA
Member since: 11/21/09
Reviews written: 13
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
classes reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 5/22/13 9:57 PM
Rating: starstar
Review Rating: Helpful by 9 people   Very Helpful by 8 people   
This is a very good class for beginners. The Tilton sisters go thru the process of sewing a t-shirt. They have a very good discussion about different types of knits. A tiny bit of information on fit. They demo two different ways to sew the neckband. Some really good information on how to control the kint fabric's tendency to roll while trying to sew the seams. All stitching is done on the sewing machine.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Sewing Class Review    Read All Sewing Class Reviews


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Barbara3 said...
AdaH, As an Intermediate sewer, did you pick up anything new that will be of value? I really enjoyed meeting Marcy and Katherine at the Puyallup Sew Expo, and am debating about taking this class.
5/23/13 8:18 PM
m1khaela said...
I'm wondering the same thing. I've made lots of knit tops but only really struggle with neckbands and bindings, so not sure if a whole class is worth it for me!
5/24/13 10:35 PM
AdaH said...
I did not pick up anything new. They did spend some time on neckbands but you can get the same information from the Sarah Veblen's Threads video. If you have never sewn with knits then this class is the perfect class for you. I know what you mean about struggling with neckbands. They do have close ups of sewing on the neckband and offer two different techniques. Both techniques are done with one shoulder sewn and the other left open. One technique has you sew the band on, then wrap it to the back and stitch in the ditch. The second technique is to fold the band right sides together, sew the band on then use twin needles to top stitch from the right side. Hope this answsers your qeustions.
5/27/13 9:59 AM
nancy2001 said...
I signed up for the class yesterday because Craftsy offered it to me for just $9.99 (I'd previously registered on their website but had never signed up for a class before), and this price included the free Vogue tee shirt pattern. I watched the introduction yesterday and the class seems very basic, but the Tilton sisters are very enthusiastic about sewing, and I figured it was worth ten dollars just to watch them in action.
5/30/13 12:53 PM
Sue Parrott said...
Thanks for reviewing this class. I've taken a class from Katherine before and enjoyed it, but it sounds as if the information isn't new.
6/10/13 10:03 AM
irishagold said...
Thank you for the review. I also took the class. I was making neck band in the same way foreVar! It is really a basic class. The difference - use your iron and press your seams. I was hoping to learn how to make a clean V-neck band and polo. Nope! Not in this class.
1/29/14 2:18 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.