SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Class Reviews > Sewing on the edge / Lynda Maynard

Viewed 2031 times
Posted by: Sigrid.
Friend of PR

About Sigrid. starstarstarstar
Member since: 11/14/06
Reviews: 156 (classes: 3)
Body Type:
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 146 people
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 7/22/13 11:17 AM
Rating: starstarstar
Review Rating: Helpful by 7 people   Very Helpful by 12 people   
Web site/URL: photo
This class is about finishing the edges of your garments: necklines, armholes (tanktop, sleeveless top) and hems. A few extra decorative ideas are added to the class, but the main focus is on clean, beautiful finishes. I tried one of the finishings for a knit based on the book (blogpost here ) and that was a success, but till now I never tried others.

Having the book I was a bit reluctant buying this class but I decided to buy it in last weeks sale based on having seen (only partially till now) Lynda Maynards class on fitting. I was far from disappointed. I did watch ALL the lessons withing two days. Which I can not say of all the Crafsy courses I've bought, some are better than others. Lynda Maynard is a great teacher and she shows the steps of construction very clearly and is well prepared. She made sure that it is very clear which side is the right side of the fabric and what is the wrong side.

I'm not a beginner and this might not be a beginners class, but I learned quite a few tips and trics and it's easier to see her doing it then reading it all in the book. Though I'm sure happy to have the book too, which covers more than only these edge finishes.
I HIGHLY recommend this class.

Screenshot of all chapters of the course
A few screenshots from the class:
Double bias binding
Double bias with piping
Hong kong finish

A blouse with double bias binding at the armholes (made with the technique by Lynda Maynard after seeing it in this class)

Armhole detail

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Nature's Fabrics

Natural & Organic Fabrics
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles

Fabrics for Greater Ideas

O! Jolly! Shop

Sweater Knit Fabrics

Add Sewing Class Review    Read All Sewing Class Reviews

Login to Add a Comment
Sewcoastal said... (10/30/13 2:53 PM) Reply
Thanks Sigrid, I have the book and can see how the class could be a good compliment to it. I'll think about picking it up on sale ;)
leoniep said... (10/14/13 0:53 AM) Reply
I thought this course was great, too. She was very well prepared and the lessons demonstrated the techniques very well. One of the better Craftsy courses I've taken.
beautifulstitches said... (8/31/13 1:32 PM) Reply
Thank you for a wonderful review, I was not sure about the class and book now I am, thanks again!!
frame said... (7/25/13 12:29 PM) Reply
Thank you, Sigrid. I actually have that book. :) I thought you might be referring to a different one that was associated with the class.
Patti B said... (7/23/13 10:26 AM) Reply
Thanks for reinforcing my decision to enroll in this course. Finishing details make the difference between homemade and smashing.
conesa said... (7/23/13 3:15 AM) Reply
Hello Sigrid, thank you for your review on this course. I have been following your blog for ages and if you recommend this course I know I will enjoy it too. I will sign up for it today. Thank you for sharing your knowledge with us.
Sigrid. said... (7/22/13 7:03 PM) Reply
Frame, the book is 'The Dressmaker's Handbook of Couture Sewing Techniques'. It is sold with different covers, the one on Amazon now is different from the one I have.
frame said... (7/22/13 5:51 PM) Reply
I enjoyed your review on your blog. You keep mentioning a book, but you haven't given the name of the book. Would you mind saying what book has this information in it? Thank you.
sewme47 said... (7/22/13 2:36 PM) Reply
Thank you for your thorough review of this class! I signed up last week, too, and look forward to getting started. I hope Lynda will be teaching more Craftsy classes in the future.
CindyBklyn said... (7/22/13 12:49 PM) Reply
Hello and thank you for your review. Your necklines are beautiful! The binding looks very professional. I recently purchased Lynda Maynard's class (I, too, own the book) and am way delighted. Ms. Maynard is an excellent instructor - articulate and precise. I feel that the Craftsy class complements the book. The book is excellent but, in my opinion, offers greater value with the on-line class. Thanks again and I will strive to have my work look as good as your work. All the best.
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Online Class
Perfectly Fitted Shirt
Perfectly Fitted Shirt

Class Details

Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

Pattern Details
Pamela's Patterns T-Shirt Makeover Pattern

Pamela's Patterns T-Shirt Makeover Pattern

Pattern Details

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2015® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.