SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Faux Piping

Viewed 1728 times
Posted by: Deepika
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Deepika starstarstarstar
MA United States
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 358
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 295 people
tips added: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 8/23/13 4:58 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people   Very Helpful by 15 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Here's a quick and easy way to add some interest to a top or a dress using a single fold bias tape. I call it "Faux Piping".

I start with a basic 1/2" single fold bias tape in a contrasting color so it would show.

1. Open the bias tape and pin it right sides together matching the edge of the garment edge to the tape. Sew 3/8 from the edge.

2. Trim the garment seam allowance to 1/4" to reduce bulk.

3. Fold everything to the wrong side but not fully. Fold so you can see a little bit of the bias tape. Before you fold, you can press if you like, but I don't think it's necessary.

4. Pin and finally topstitch 1/4" from the edge.

5. Press and wear!

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
arianamaniacs said...
interesting idea!
8/24/13 6:48 AM
Adaire said...
Helpful and easy! Thanks!
8/24/13 7:51 AM
VivianZ said...
It took me by surprise. Piping is usually inserted between seams, but this is a seam finish. Really good idea.
8/24/13 8:32 AM
Pj3g said...
Very nice and I really like the fabric you're sewing it too!
8/24/13 2:19 PM
Marcia R said...
This is terrific, I will definitely be trying it. Also, I love the way you posted the URL. Could you provide a tutorial for this? Thank you!
8/24/13 11:04 PM
Deepika said...
Thanks for the lovely comments. @VivianZ, I suppose I could have called it piped seam finish :) Marcia I use pixlr.com for making my collages. They have many layouts. This way just one picture tells the whole story.
8/29/13 11:28 AM
CissieW said...
Great tip! And I get to see that gorgeous fabric from India up close!
9/10/13 11:26 AM
NanJones said...
This might be a nice way to finish a skirt hem.
9/11/13 12:24 PM
petro said...
That's nice! Easier than the real thing too.
9/12/13 1:13 PM
Vgreen said...
Faux piping
4/5/14 6:11 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Learn to Sew a Shirt or Blouse DVD

Learn to Sew a Shirt or Blouse DVD

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Carry-All Shoulder Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Carry-All Shoulder Bag Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.