SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Class Reviews > Craftsy 40 Sewing Techniques Every Sewer Should Know

Viewed 1769 times
Posted by: nurseloon
photo

 
 
About nurseloon
WI HUNGARY
Member since: 7/3/05
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Intermediate
classes reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 8/27/13 6:03 PM
Rating: starstar
Review Rating: Helpful by 7 people   Very Helpful by 23 people   
Web site/URL: photo
The instructor, Gail Yellin, is methodical, and explains what she is doing very well. This class would be very valuable to the beginner sewer, or to the sewer who is starting to sew again after a long period of inactivity. The topics covered are pressing, including the use of hams, sleeve boards, and clappers; stitching: stay stitching, understitching, top stitching, and specialty threads (elastic); curves and corners: sewing and pressing of curves and corners, grading, clipping, and princess seams; interfacing: choosing interfacing, pattern piece fusing, block fusing, and staying a shoulder seam; bindings: how to use bindings, how to cut and apply to curves--both inside and outside curves; sleeves: how to sew inset and flat constructed sleeves, how to ease and crimp, and use of sleeve headers; and closures: zippers, buttonholes (just machine and bound buttonholes, no hand-sewn buttonholes), faux bound buttonholes that can be used with fleece, and covering buttons. I do have a moderate level of experience and knowledge, so much of this course seemed pretty basic. But, I did learn some new tips which will make my sewing easier. So, I did like the course, but I wish it were less expensive. I did buy it for half-price. So, a hearty recommendation for beginners, and a recommendation for those who feel a little shaky regarding some basic skills.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Sewing Class Review    Read All Sewing Class Reviews


10 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Pj3g said...
Nice Review!
8/28/13 6:46 AM
CindyBklyn said...
Thank you for your review. I really enjoy the Craftsy classes. I was debating about enrolling in this class and now will enroll. Thanks again for taking the time to review.
8/28/13 7:05 AM
ASiverson said...
I am a Craftsy addict and may also enroll in this class. Thank you for your review!
8/28/13 4:51 PM
graceomalleyRN said...
I agree. This course was worth it for half price, but not enough material to make it worth the full price unless you are a true beginner.
8/28/13 9:12 PM
marijkej said...
Yes, a nice course, but a bit too much focused on Bernina IMHO...
8/31/13 6:48 AM
AdaH said...
Thanks for the review. I thought about taking this class, but since I am not a beginner held off and now thanks to your review will pass and wait for another class that has more to offer me.
9/11/13 2:21 PM
kcurtis said...
Thank you for your review! I was looking at that class as well, but I didn't want to pay $49.99 for it. Figured it might be worth $19.99 You just confirmed my thought on it.
9/13/13 6:44 PM
sew dooley said...
I was in a class on jackets with Gail at ASE, I was impressed with her creativity and considered the Craftsy class. I think this will be one I wait on, mabe next time there's a sale. Thanks.
10/12/13 3:04 PM
Sheryl60 said...
Thanks! I, too, am a Craftsy addict!! Will purchase this class on sale as i have now learned to do!
11/9/13 4:16 PM
hopflower said...
Yes, if you are new to sewing, it is very helpful. But those with experience would see it as a review, and therefore it would be a good deal at half price.
12/29/13 12:35 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Petite Plus 303 Pattern

Petite Plus 303 Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 100mm Shell Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 100mm Shell Purse Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.