Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Pattern Storage for Self Drafted Patterns (Tip/Technique)
Viewed 1158 times
Review rated Helpful by 5 people   Very Helpful by 11 people   
Posted by: SewLibra
photo
Friend of PR
About SewLibra star
CA USA
Member since: 12/2/08
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
tips added: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 9/9/13 3:58 PM
Last Updated: 1/4/14 3:08 PM
Web site/URL: photo
I like to make patterns from freezer paper, but they are too hard to work with if they are folded. I bought two 40" x 32" foam boards from a hobby store and four plastic snack clips from the grocery store. I place my patterns in between, clip all four sides, and slide it under the bed! The only pieces that have to be folded are pants, with just one fold toward the bottom.

1/4/14 Edited the photo since the first time around we were only allowed one photo.
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

<< Previous Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mariyka said...
Great idea! I like this better than my rolling them, since they stay flat. I've got a bunch of document binder clips I can use. Thanks!
9/10/13 5:29 AM
Pj3g said...
Wonderful idea!
9/10/13 1:03 PM
NanJones said...
I'm a little confused. Do you have to purchase 2 more form boards from a hobby store plus clips for each pattern you have or do you do something to keep them separate.
9/11/13 12:20 PM
SewLibra said...
NanJones, all my patterns are together inside the two foam boards. I use paper clips to clip all the pieces that belong to each pattern. I included a pic of this by adding the http://, but PR only lets you post one real photo for a tip, apparently. You have to copy and paste the link to see it. Anyhow, you can keep adding as many patterns as you want until the clips don't fit over the foam boards anymore...and that would be a lot!
9/12/13 5:11 PM
CrafterMary said...
Love this idea! I need to store some dog bed patterns right now that are hanging from a bulletin board in my sewing room, gonna get some foam boards TODAY! Perfect solution and just the right size, thanks!
9/28/13 9:14 AM
Dana Cetz said...
Wow what a creative idea. What are the reasons you use freezer paper to draft your patterns?
10/30/13 6:04 AM
persevering said...
Thank you very much for sharing your helpful pattern storage technique. I plan to do it! :)
11/11/13 8:30 PM
SewLibra said...
Dana, there are many kinds of paper or materials you can draft patterns on, but I buy freezer paper because it's easily available, fairly cheap, a manageable size, and one side is coated to make it sturdy. You can even use a dry iron and reinforce commerical patterns on it, if you want. Not sure if it lasts forever doing that, though.
12/17/13 6:17 PM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us