SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Pattern Storage for Self Drafted Patterns

Viewed 1351 times
Posted by: SewLibra
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About SewLibra star
CA USA
Member since: 12/2/08
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
tips added: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 9/9/13 3:58 PM
Last Updated: 1/4/14 3:08 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people   Very Helpful by 11 people   
Web site/URL: photo
I like to make patterns from freezer paper, but they are too hard to work with if they are folded. I bought two 40" x 32" foam boards from a hobby store and four plastic snack clips from the grocery store. I place my patterns in between, clip all four sides, and slide it under the bed! The only pieces that have to be folded are pants, with just one fold toward the bottom.

1/4/14 Edited the photo since the first time around we were only allowed one photo.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Mariyka said...
Great idea! I like this better than my rolling them, since they stay flat. I've got a bunch of document binder clips I can use. Thanks!
9/10/13 5:29 AM
Pj3g said...
Wonderful idea!
9/10/13 1:03 PM
NanJones said...
I'm a little confused. Do you have to purchase 2 more form boards from a hobby store plus clips for each pattern you have or do you do something to keep them separate.
9/11/13 12:20 PM
SewLibra said...
NanJones, all my patterns are together inside the two foam boards. I use paper clips to clip all the pieces that belong to each pattern. I included a pic of this by adding the http://, but PR only lets you post one real photo for a tip, apparently. You have to copy and paste the link to see it. Anyhow, you can keep adding as many patterns as you want until the clips don't fit over the foam boards anymore...and that would be a lot!
9/12/13 5:11 PM
CrafterMary said...
Love this idea! I need to store some dog bed patterns right now that are hanging from a bulletin board in my sewing room, gonna get some foam boards TODAY! Perfect solution and just the right size, thanks!
9/28/13 9:14 AM
Dana Cetz said...
Wow what a creative idea. What are the reasons you use freezer paper to draft your patterns?
10/30/13 6:04 AM
persevering said...
Thank you very much for sharing your helpful pattern storage technique. I plan to do it! :)
11/11/13 8:30 PM
SewLibra said...
Dana, there are many kinds of paper or materials you can draft patterns on, but I buy freezer paper because it's easily available, fairly cheap, a manageable size, and one side is coated to make it sturdy. You can even use a dry iron and reinforce commerical patterns on it, if you want. Not sure if it lasts forever doing that, though.
12/17/13 6:17 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Gathering apron Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.