SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Sewing accurate corners (on anything!)

Viewed 1456 times
Posted by: Handshake
photo

 
 
About Handshake star
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 7/19/13
Reviews written: 21
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 7 people
tips added: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 10/8/13 2:00 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 6 people   Very Helpful by 6 people   
This tip/technique may seem blindingly obvious to some, but I wish I had known about it before this summer, it would have saved me so much time and trouble.

If you have to sew a corner - on a shirt collar, a pocket, or as I just did, the front of a waistcoat which has three corners when attaching the facing, don't sew to (what you hope is) 5/8" of the corner point and pivot.

Instead, sew right off the edge. Cut threads and re-present the sewing to the machine at the (now swivelled) edge, and re-start sewing at the raw edge. Everything will line up, again, at 5/8".

You were going to trim that corner sewing anyway: this way you have two lines of machine stitching, both at exactly 5/8", which help you to cut the corner point off.

Result: accurate seam lines, plus two lines of stitching at the vital corner-turning point.

Ta Daa!


<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Handshake said...
Photo removed.
10/22/13 3:54 PM
thaiyal said...
You've used a picture by somebody else without getting written permission!!! Not coool.
10/22/13 10:34 AM
MartiP said...
Brilliant!
10/9/13 12:12 PM
Handshake said...
Copyright shows on photograph. Full link to source of photograph now added to this post.
10/9/13 10:13 AM
Pam~Off The Cuff~ said...
As the writer of this tip said, ...that (copyrighted) photo is from my blog post, http://off-the-cuff-style.blogspot.com/2012/10/perfect-collar-pointsa-shirtmakers.html No harm done, but it is customary to provide the full link to the source of copyrighted books, photos, tutorials, etc.
10/9/13 9:32 AM
strongnow said...
Once you read this it seems so obvious, but if you are following pattern directions you tend to think they have a better way. Not so. Thank you for this review.
10/9/13 8:53 AM
Adaire said...
I have been doing this for several years and find it much easier and the results look better.
10/9/13 7:28 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.