SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > SOIL SEPARATOR FABRIC VS. SWEDISH TRACING PAPER

Viewed 6144 times
Posted by: audsews
photo

 
 
About audsews
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Intermediate
tips added: 2
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 12/15/03 12:01 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
Featured in the PR book!
I used the soil separator fabric this weekend to trace off some patterns, and have some comparisons with the swedish tracing paper/Monster paper. The soil separator (s/s hereafter) is thinner, very see-thru, and not as stable (read-- sometimes it "gives") as the swedish. However, at less than 11 cents a yard for the 48" wide variety, the s/s gets my vote. You can get an entire sheet of any pattern without having to piece the tracing. And it marks well with a dark ink pen or gel pen. Pencil drags too much. The only real problem I see with the s/s is that you won't be able to see it on some fabrics, so I retrace the lines with a Sharpie after tracing off. But the s/s does fold flat-- storage won't be a problem!

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Lizzy said...
Audrey - What is Soil Separator fabric? I've never heard of it. Does it have another name?
12/15/03 6:21 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Lizzy, it's a product made for keeping dirt from clogging pipes in a septic systems. You can purchase it in the plumbing department at Lowe's - and maybe Home Depot, too. It feels like thin non-woven interfacing and comes in rolls that are 24", 36" and 48" wide. Very economical stuff for tracing patterns.
12/15/03 7:53 PM
sewserious1 said...
This can also be purchased online from the manufacturer. They call it sewing fabric there. www.cariff.com
12/16/03 6:25 AM
AnneM said...
Thank you very much for this comparison. I have a nice roll of the s/s fabric, and have wondered if I should try the swedish tracing paper. I have noticed that the s/s can stretch a little. I think the price wins me over as well! I bought my s/s from the cariff website, in the 36" wide variety. It wasn't available at Home Depot, at least not at the time.
12/16/03 12:43 PM
JDpenelope said...
As I mentioned on the next tip, there's an terrific discussion of this topic on the message board at http://sewing.patternreview.com/cgi-bin/ikonboard/ikonboard.pl?s=3fdfa3482106ffff;act=ST;f=6;t=1780;hl=tracing+paper+or+soil+separat.
12/16/03 7:01 PM
Sew it seams said...
Thank you Audrey for this tip. I went searching for it to find out what it is and where to get it and found your tip. I'll see if I can find it here locally.
5/29/04 10:46 AM
afternoon_sun said...
Thanks, I am a new fan of s/s now! I use a few pins to attach it to the pattern before I trace to keep the s/s from stretching on me.
7/2/07 6:31 PM
magsann said...
Question: What is soil separator fabric? I am english and have never heard this term before. The review was interesting.
2/5/08 2:42 PM
TKW said...
What is soil separator? I have never heard of it. Where can I get some?
7/31/08 9:58 AM
Gulfgal55 said...
Thanks for the info -- had heard of using it but had not seen an actual review of it. Will have to try it!
2/4/10 1:59 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Favorite Things Lounge Around Pattern

Favorite Things Lounge Around Pattern

Buy Now
J Stern Designs The Tee Pattern

J Stern Designs The Tee Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.