SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > SOIL SEPARATOR FABRIC VS. SWEDISH TRACING PAPER

Viewed 6302 times
Posted by: audsews
photo

 
 
About audsews
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Intermediate
tips added: 2
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 12/15/03 12:01 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 8 people   
Featured in the PR book!
I used the soil separator fabric this weekend to trace off some patterns, and have some comparisons with the swedish tracing paper/Monster paper. The soil separator (s/s hereafter) is thinner, very see-thru, and not as stable (read-- sometimes it "gives") as the swedish. However, at less than 11 cents a yard for the 48" wide variety, the s/s gets my vote. You can get an entire sheet of any pattern without having to piece the tracing. And it marks well with a dark ink pen or gel pen. Pencil drags too much. The only real problem I see with the s/s is that you won't be able to see it on some fabrics, so I retrace the lines with a Sharpie after tracing off. But the s/s does fold flat-- storage won't be a problem!

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Lizzy said...
Audrey - What is Soil Separator fabric? I've never heard of it. Does it have another name?
12/15/03 6:21 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Lizzy, it's a product made for keeping dirt from clogging pipes in a septic systems. You can purchase it in the plumbing department at Lowe's - and maybe Home Depot, too. It feels like thin non-woven interfacing and comes in rolls that are 24", 36" and 48" wide. Very economical stuff for tracing patterns.
12/15/03 7:53 PM
sewserious1 said...
This can also be purchased online from the manufacturer. They call it sewing fabric there. www.cariff.com
12/16/03 6:25 AM
AnneM said...
Thank you very much for this comparison. I have a nice roll of the s/s fabric, and have wondered if I should try the swedish tracing paper. I have noticed that the s/s can stretch a little. I think the price wins me over as well! I bought my s/s from the cariff website, in the 36" wide variety. It wasn't available at Home Depot, at least not at the time.
12/16/03 12:43 PM
JDpenelope said...
As I mentioned on the next tip, there's an terrific discussion of this topic on the message board at http://sewing.patternreview.com/cgi-bin/ikonboard/ikonboard.pl?s=3fdfa3482106ffff;act=ST;f=6;t=1780;hl=tracing+paper+or+soil+separat.
12/16/03 7:01 PM
Sew it seams said...
Thank you Audrey for this tip. I went searching for it to find out what it is and where to get it and found your tip. I'll see if I can find it here locally.
5/29/04 10:46 AM
afternoon_sun said...
Thanks, I am a new fan of s/s now! I use a few pins to attach it to the pattern before I trace to keep the s/s from stretching on me.
7/2/07 6:31 PM
magsann said...
Question: What is soil separator fabric? I am english and have never heard this term before. The review was interesting.
2/5/08 2:42 PM
TKW said...
What is soil separator? I have never heard of it. Where can I get some?
7/31/08 9:58 AM
Gulfgal55 said...
Thanks for the info -- had heard of using it but had not seen an actual review of it. Will have to try it!
2/4/10 1:59 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Petite Plus 401 Pattern

Petite Plus 401 Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things An Everyday Bag Pattern

Favorite Things An Everyday Bag Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.