SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > raising your "cutting table"

Viewed 5240 times
Posted by: Katie Pizzo
photo

 
 
About Katie Pizzo
WI USA
Member since: 12/30/02
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Intermediate
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 12/16/03 7:21 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 1 people   
Haven't been on the computer for awhile so this may be here already. When on the message board was reading a thread about what people who do not have a sewing room this was one thing that made my life easier and back thank me. Before I was lucky enough to have a cutting table that was the right height for my 5'9" height I would lift my kitchen table with tomato juice cans. Something I always had because I have dogs and live in a rural area SKUNKS which is another good but nonsewing tip. If you are not as tall I would imagine coffee cans, 28 0z cans, etc would work. It really made a difference for me. The only thing I would be aware of is if you have really young kids I wouldn't leave them up because they could be unstable depending on what kind of legs your table has.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Sawtooth said...
The largest diameter can you have of the right height would beat the heck out of a small diameter can. It would take the wobble out.
10/10/06 10:39 AM
Charcoal said...
I was thinking of purchasing the bed risers (different styles to choose from) sold at BedBathandBeyond or Linens N' Things for raising my table. Bed Bath and Beyond (satisfaction guarranteed) has a better return/exchange policy than Linen N' Things (limited days--30?), and they honor each other's coupons.
7/4/06 6:13 AM
Chera said...
I've read more than a few tips for raising my cutting table--yours fits my budget (lol) right out of my cupboard. thanks
1/5/04 5:43 PM
Karen Harris said...
Katie, I raised my sewing table (aka:dining room table) using PVC pipe. It took just a bit of culculating before cutting to get the right height but the table is very stable.
1/4/04 10:14 PM
lvanderb said...
Hi Penelope, I did this too after reading about it in a Threads magazine. I'm about 5'5" and use 28 oz. tins of fruit that no one in my house is interested in! Then, when we need the table for something else, we just remove all my sewing things and take it away.
12/28/03 3:18 PM
Sunflower Ann said...
This is a great hint. I volunteer to assist with teaching sewing at a middle school. With the help of the Shop Teacher, we extended the table height with PVC pipe cut to the proper length. This worked great and makes the table more stable than putting it on cans. For those who have to keep their table for other purposes, the cans are a great idea! Thanks.
12/27/03 9:33 AM
Lizzy said...
Works for curious cats, too!
12/17/03 11:40 PM
JDpenelope said...
Katie - I grew up on a farm, but I haven't heard of that one. I'll keep it in mind!
12/17/03 7:22 PM
Katie Pizzo said...
Penelope if your dogs ever get sprayed by a skunk a good bath with tomato juice followed with a white vinegar rinse will get rid of most of the odor
12/17/03 5:41 PM
JDpenelope said...
I've been thinking about asking my dad to make some sturdy wooden blocks to raise a table and relieve my back, and I'm just 5'2". Tomato or coffee cans might also work! Katie, I'm dying of curiosity, because I can't figure out your comment about the skunks and your nonsewing tip.
12/16/03 9:59 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Favorite Things A Wallet Purse Pattern

Favorite Things A Wallet Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Margo Handbag

Margo Handbag

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.