SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Sew Barefoot

Viewed 1353 times
Posted by: Sew Nanny
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Sew Nanny starstarstar
United States
Member since: 8/13/06
Reviews written: 154
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
tips added: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/14/14 3:44 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 6 people   Very Helpful by 5 people   
I picked this tip up fairly recently. I now sew either barefoot or in my socks if the weather is cold. (I still wear clothes, of course, just no shoes.) ;-) I've found that I have better control and a better "feel" for the foot pedal without shoes on. I really didn't believe there would be that much difference until I tried it.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


9 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
sewmadd said...
I also sew without a shoe on my "pedal" foot. I can't believe how much more control I have...can't remember where I heard this tip but it really works.
4/2/14 11:49 PM
cstarks said...
We never wear shoes in the house, so it felt very strange to be sewing with shoes when I was test driving machines! Great tip!
3/7/14 7:37 AM
8dove8 said...
Yes...I am a barefoot sewer too...on my serger and coverstitch machines with stiffer foot pedals...I am barefoot too...but use my heel to press down on the foot pedal...(sort of backwards compared to how i really sew using other machines) it gives me better speed control..
1/16/14 9:04 PM
ASiverson said...
I too sew barefoot, most of the time! It does allow for better control and I just like being barefoot! See other do also. So I am not alone like I thought!
1/15/14 11:07 AM
SandiMacD said...
I was raised with and still have a -no shoes inside the house- rule. So have always sewn barefoot or with socks. Love it.
1/15/14 7:07 AM
SewLibra said...
I have always sewn barefoot in the summer and with socks or slippers in the winter. There is better control and it's easier on a plastic foot pedal. Thanks for posting so others will try it!
1/15/14 0:29 AM
SewLibra said...
I have always sewn barefoot in the summer and with socks or slippers in the winter. There is better control and it's easier on a plastic foot pedal. Thanks for posting so others will try it!
1/15/14 0:29 AM
Annie- oh said...
I used to. Heck, who said I had to quit when I grew up? Thanks for the reminder.
1/14/14 9:29 PM
HanPanda said...
I've always sewn barefoot! I even ocassionally drive barefoot (shhh!) for the same reason. It also keeps me careful to not drop pins on the floor--very important when the sewing room is open to general traffic and Kitty!
1/14/14 8:10 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Lolita Patterns Olive Peplum Top Pattern

Lolita Patterns Olive Peplum Top Pattern

Buy Now
Bluegingerdoll The Betsy Pencil Skirt Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Betsy Pencil Skirt Paper Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.