SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Sew Barefoot

Viewed 1276 times
Posted by: Sew Nanny
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Sew Nanny starstarstar
United States
Member since: 8/13/06
Reviews written: 154
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
tips added: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/14/14 3:44 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 6 people   Very Helpful by 5 people   
I picked this tip up fairly recently. I now sew either barefoot or in my socks if the weather is cold. (I still wear clothes, of course, just no shoes.) ;-) I've found that I have better control and a better "feel" for the foot pedal without shoes on. I really didn't believe there would be that much difference until I tried it.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


9 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
sewmadd said...
I also sew without a shoe on my "pedal" foot. I can't believe how much more control I have...can't remember where I heard this tip but it really works.
4/2/14 11:49 PM
cstarks said...
We never wear shoes in the house, so it felt very strange to be sewing with shoes when I was test driving machines! Great tip!
3/7/14 7:37 AM
8dove8 said...
Yes...I am a barefoot sewer too...on my serger and coverstitch machines with stiffer foot pedals...I am barefoot too...but use my heel to press down on the foot pedal...(sort of backwards compared to how i really sew using other machines) it gives me better speed control..
1/16/14 9:04 PM
ASiverson said...
I too sew barefoot, most of the time! It does allow for better control and I just like being barefoot! See other do also. So I am not alone like I thought!
1/15/14 11:07 AM
SandiMacD said...
I was raised with and still have a -no shoes inside the house- rule. So have always sewn barefoot or with socks. Love it.
1/15/14 7:07 AM
SewLibra said...
I have always sewn barefoot in the summer and with socks or slippers in the winter. There is better control and it's easier on a plastic foot pedal. Thanks for posting so others will try it!
1/15/14 0:29 AM
SewLibra said...
I have always sewn barefoot in the summer and with socks or slippers in the winter. There is better control and it's easier on a plastic foot pedal. Thanks for posting so others will try it!
1/15/14 0:29 AM
Annie- oh said...
I used to. Heck, who said I had to quit when I grew up? Thanks for the reminder.
1/14/14 9:29 PM
HanPanda said...
I've always sewn barefoot! I even ocassionally drive barefoot (shhh!) for the same reason. It also keeps me careful to not drop pins on the floor--very important when the sewing room is open to general traffic and Kitty!
1/14/14 8:10 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

You Sew Girl 75mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 75mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

More Info
Gracie Handbag

Gracie Handbag

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.