SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Clip at the Spool

Viewed 1027 times
Posted by: Sew Nanny
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Sew Nanny starstarstar
United States
Member since: 8/13/06
Reviews written: 154
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
tips added: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/15/14 8:54 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 12 people   
This tip is from the mouth of my Bernina tech. When it's time to change the thread on your sewing machine, never grab the spool and just pull the thread backwards through the tension disks. First, raise the presser foot, clip the thread at the spool and then pull the remaining thread through the needle toward you. If you pull the thread backwards, lint and other fuzzies can get caught in the tension disks. Some machines also have a little spring that can break.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Geejay said...
I have been doing this now for several years,when I bought my embroidery machine I was told never ever pull the thread back.cut and bring through the needle.. Great advice to share
4/10/14 7:38 AM
Sew Good said...
Thank you! Very good to know
3/21/14 10:13 AM
irishagold said...
I've heard about this technique and try to use it. Boy, it is so hard to break the old habit of pulling the thread out the old way.
1/29/14 0:33 AM
cherilindsey said...
They call it "flossing"
1/17/14 1:19 AM
SandiMacD said...
When I re-thread and don't have my scissors handy, I slip the upper spool thread into the cutter of my bobbin winder. If my machine doesn't have one, I lengthen the thread from the spool to the cutter on the side of my machine. Once passed through the cutter, I can pull the thread strand through the needle.
1/16/14 8:39 PM
2 Airedales n Me said...
Great tip - thank you.
1/16/14 12:26 PM
ASiverson said...
Pulling the thread back from the needle is how I always unthread my machine! But the tip you give above makes a lot more sense. I will have to start doing it that way now. TFS!
1/16/14 12:09 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern

SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern

More Info
Sewn Square One Go Anywhere Dress Pattern

Sewn Square One Go Anywhere Dress Pattern

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.