SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Clip at the Spool

Viewed 1077 times
Posted by: Sew Nanny
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Sew Nanny starstarstar
United States
Member since: 8/13/06
Reviews written: 154
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
tips added: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/15/14 8:54 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 12 people   
This tip is from the mouth of my Bernina tech. When it's time to change the thread on your sewing machine, never grab the spool and just pull the thread backwards through the tension disks. First, raise the presser foot, clip the thread at the spool and then pull the remaining thread through the needle toward you. If you pull the thread backwards, lint and other fuzzies can get caught in the tension disks. Some machines also have a little spring that can break.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Geejay said...
I have been doing this now for several years,when I bought my embroidery machine I was told never ever pull the thread back.cut and bring through the needle.. Great advice to share
4/10/14 7:38 AM
Sew Good said...
Thank you! Very good to know
3/21/14 10:13 AM
irishagold said...
I've heard about this technique and try to use it. Boy, it is so hard to break the old habit of pulling the thread out the old way.
1/29/14 0:33 AM
cherilindsey said...
They call it "flossing"
1/17/14 1:19 AM
SandiMacD said...
When I re-thread and don't have my scissors handy, I slip the upper spool thread into the cutter of my bobbin winder. If my machine doesn't have one, I lengthen the thread from the spool to the cutter on the side of my machine. Once passed through the cutter, I can pull the thread strand through the needle.
1/16/14 8:39 PM
2 Airedales n Me said...
Great tip - thank you.
1/16/14 12:26 PM
ASiverson said...
Pulling the thread back from the needle is how I always unthread my machine! But the tip you give above makes a lot more sense. I will have to start doing it that way now. TFS!
1/16/14 12:09 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Chic Spin Skirt Pattern (ln1209)

Sew Chic Spin Skirt Pattern (ln1209)

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.