SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Clip at the Spool

Viewed 993 times
Posted by: Sew Nanny
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Sew Nanny starstarstar
United States
Member since: 8/13/06
Reviews written: 153
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
tips added: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/15/14 8:54 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 12 people   
This tip is from the mouth of my Bernina tech. When it's time to change the thread on your sewing machine, never grab the spool and just pull the thread backwards through the tension disks. First, raise the presser foot, clip the thread at the spool and then pull the remaining thread through the needle toward you. If you pull the thread backwards, lint and other fuzzies can get caught in the tension disks. Some machines also have a little spring that can break.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
ASiverson said...
Pulling the thread back from the needle is how I always unthread my machine! But the tip you give above makes a lot more sense. I will have to start doing it that way now. TFS!
1/16/14 12:09 PM
2 Airedales n Me said...
Great tip - thank you.
1/16/14 12:26 PM
SandiMacD said...
When I re-thread and don't have my scissors handy, I slip the upper spool thread into the cutter of my bobbin winder. If my machine doesn't have one, I lengthen the thread from the spool to the cutter on the side of my machine. Once passed through the cutter, I can pull the thread strand through the needle.
1/16/14 8:39 PM
cherilindsey said...
They call it "flossing"
1/17/14 1:19 AM
irishagold said...
I've heard about this technique and try to use it. Boy, it is so hard to break the old habit of pulling the thread out the old way.
1/29/14 0:33 AM
Sew Good said...
Thank you! Very good to know
3/21/14 10:13 AM
Geejay said...
I have been doing this now for several years,when I bought my embroidery machine I was told never ever pull the thread back.cut and bring through the needle.. Great advice to share
4/10/14 7:38 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Sew Chic Pretty Petticoat Pattern (ln1208)

Sew Chic Pretty Petticoat Pattern (ln1208)

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.