SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Class Reviews > Sewing with silks (Craftsy)

Viewed 1363 times
Posted by: Sigrid.
Friend of PR

About Sigrid. starstarstarstar
Member since: 11/14/06
Reviews: 157 (classes: 3)
Body Type:
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 147 people
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/18/14 10:15 AM
Rating: thumbsdown
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 26 people   
Web site/URL: photo
I bought this class recently because I'd like to upgrade my skills and have hardly sewn with silks, especially the difficult thin and slippery ones. I looked for reviews but could not find any, so I took the plunge when it was on sale. I have asked for a refund on this class (and good of Craftsy: no difficulty about it at all).

The reason I did that is that this is not a class about sewing with silks. It's a class on sewing a shirt, especially the Liberty shirt that's included in the course materials. Not my style, a pattern is never the reason I buy a class as I'm interesting in learning something to use in other sewing projects as well.

I clicked through the lessons of the course, hoping to find information about sewing with the thin and slippery silks, but it was not there. This class is about how to sew French seams, how to sew a collar etc. A silk was used for the shirt, but the kind of silk that is stable and sews up easily (I know, it's the kind of silk I did work with).

It might be a good class if you are looking for instructions on how to sew a (Liberty) shirt but I can do that already. This it is not a class to learn about sewing with different kind of silk fabrics. The title of the course should be changed.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past

vintage sewing patterns

Reconstructing History

Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics

Natural & Organic Fabrics

Add Sewing Class Review    Read All Sewing Class Reviews

Login to Add a Comment    
sewmadd said... (3/24/14 2:57 PM) Reply
I took this class and I was aware that the Liberty shirt was the garmment to be made. I've never sewn with any type of silk so this was new to me. I am so pleased with the results of my shirt and when I wore it to a sewing class the instructors loved it and commented on the construction, which i couldn't have done without this class and the 30 sec repeat. You have to thouroughly read the class descriptions because the ones with a pattern attached,you can pretty much count on that garment being made. That said, Linda Lee is a wonderful instructor and this class was helpful in many differnt ways than just how to sew with silk.
lyndle said... (3/14/14 6:03 AM) Reply
I totally agree. I toowas hoping for info on sewing with slippery or sheer silks but instead found one on how to sew a shirt with the most well-behaved silk possible. I quit the class but now I will ask for my money back. It's also a pattern I will never wear. Sarah's class is expensive from here but I think I'll hang out for it as her classes are so awesome.
sewmadd said... (3/4/14 12:25 PM) Reply
I took this class and since I've never sewen with silks I really liked the idea of actually making a garment. I learned so much making the shirt and it turned out beautiful. I will have to check out some of the other classes that are offered for sewing with silks.
RoseOK said... (2/17/14 6:56 PM) Reply
I took Sarah Veblen's class and love it. My URI sewing teacher looked over my notes from her class and was very impressed with them. Thanks for your review. I'm glad I didn't take the class yet.
Marie67 said... (2/3/14 5:13 AM) Reply
Thanks for an honest review. I too am looking for a class on sewing with silk, and thin slippery fabrics. I hope you post a review of Sarah Veblen's class, once you've completed it.
Flying Seamstress said... (1/19/14 6:45 PM) Reply
Thank you for your review. I'll be removing this class from my wish list!
PattyE said... (1/19/14 10:38 AM) Reply
Oh darn...I bought this class to hopefully learn additional tricks for sewing on various silks. I use silk quite a bit but wanted to learn more. It appears I'm not going to get what I wanted from this class either. Thank you for the review.
ASiverson said... (1/19/14 10:36 AM) Reply
This is one class on Craftsy I haven't enrolled in, and now I am very glad. And I agree with Tricia, Sarah Veblen is most likely just what you are looking for. Go for it. TFS!
SandiMacD said... (1/19/14 6:16 AM) Reply
I registered for the same reason as you but haven't watched it yet. I missed Sarah's first PR silk class- was enrolled in 2 others back to back and could not handle it at the time. Her next wasn't offered again until we were in the middle of moving cross country. Gave up waiting and enrolled in a slew of Craftsy classes on sale in Nov. Thanks for the review- I will put the PR silk class back on my radar- it seems to come up every 2-3 years.
Sigrid. said... (1/19/14 2:59 AM) Reply
Tricia, thank you for the suggestion. I missed seeing that one and now have registered for it :) Will not be able to watch right away, but this indeed sounds like what I was looking for.
Tricia Plummer said... (1/19/14 0:33 AM) Reply
It is so frustrating when we expect a class to be as it's advertised and it isn't. I'd like to make a suggestion if I may, Have you tried Sarah Veblen's "Sewing with Slippery and Drapey fabric"? She is a fantastic instructor. I've taken most of her classes and always found them to be worth the cost and then some. From your review, I think Sarah's class may be just what you're looking for.
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Petite Plus 104 Pattern

Petite Plus 104 Pattern

Pattern Details
Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Pattern Details

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2015® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.