SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Easy dress double

Viewed 5188 times
Posted by: FauxZenaChick
photo

 
 
About FauxZenaChick
MD USA
Member since: 12/28/03
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Intermediate
tips added: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 12/29/03 8:32 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 2 people   
Featured in the PR book!
After reading "sewgirl's" profile, I wanted to add this tip for anyone that might be interested. For those of us that enjoy sewing, but have a difficult time tailoring for ourselves and just cannot afford the $200 for a dress double, I have a cheap trip for you. Put on an old t-shirt, one that fits you snuggly, and have someone wrap you in duck tape, enough to where it covers the shirt. Cut a seam in the back to remove, and retape. Stuff with polyfill and VOILA, an instant dress double. I put mine on a dowel rod and had my husband nail a stand for it. I couldn't ask for a better proportioned dummy.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


9 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
geekatee said...
What a great idea! I've been looking for a way to include by shape and form for years, this will work great!! Thanks so much.
12/30/03 0:25 AM
FauxZenaChick said...
Thank you for your accolade, but unfortunately, I can't take all the credit for this one. I read it in a magazine about 6 years ago, and have been using my double ever since. I'm glad it helps.
12/30/03 9:39 AM
Lizzy said...
I think this is going to be one of my 2004 projects! Hopefully I can persuade DH to assist. There is a good article about this at http://www.taunton.com/threads/pages/t00002.asp
12/30/03 11:25 AM
Dr. Alice said...
I wanted to buy a dress dummy (don't think I'm coordinated enought to duct tape myself). Any suggestions or recommendations?
1/5/04 1:19 PM
FauxZenaChick said...
As of last week, JoAnn Fabrics had "My Double" dummy on sale for $119.
1/10/04 10:12 AM
FauxZenaChick said...
As of last week, JoAnn Fabrics had a "My Double" dummy on sale for $119.
1/10/04 10:13 AM
Ant said...
What a clever idea - only problem is, my husband might not know when to stop taping!!!!!
2/20/04 6:13 PM
rox said...
Phew! I had some elaborate plan where I was going to papier-mâché myself... lol - I'm glad you brought up the duct tape idea...
2/27/04 8:30 PM
MarciClaus said...
I have been looking for a low cost alternative to buying a dress form. I wanted something that would replicate my shape as exactly as possible. This is a great idea.
4/26/05 3:32 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

J Stern Designs Ribbon Skirt Pattern

J Stern Designs Ribbon Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
BIRTH OF A BUSTIER - A CD Book by Kenneth King

BIRTH OF A BUSTIER - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.