SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Easy dress double

Viewed 5148 times
Posted by: FauxZenaChick
photo

 
 
About FauxZenaChick
MD USA
Member since: 12/28/03
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Intermediate
tips added: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 12/29/03 8:32 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 2 people   
Featured in the PR book!
After reading "sewgirl's" profile, I wanted to add this tip for anyone that might be interested. For those of us that enjoy sewing, but have a difficult time tailoring for ourselves and just cannot afford the $200 for a dress double, I have a cheap trip for you. Put on an old t-shirt, one that fits you snuggly, and have someone wrap you in duck tape, enough to where it covers the shirt. Cut a seam in the back to remove, and retape. Stuff with polyfill and VOILA, an instant dress double. I put mine on a dowel rod and had my husband nail a stand for it. I couldn't ask for a better proportioned dummy.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


9 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
geekatee said...
What a great idea! I've been looking for a way to include by shape and form for years, this will work great!! Thanks so much.
12/30/03 0:25 AM
FauxZenaChick said...
Thank you for your accolade, but unfortunately, I can't take all the credit for this one. I read it in a magazine about 6 years ago, and have been using my double ever since. I'm glad it helps.
12/30/03 9:39 AM
Lizzy said...
I think this is going to be one of my 2004 projects! Hopefully I can persuade DH to assist. There is a good article about this at http://www.taunton.com/threads/pages/t00002.asp
12/30/03 11:25 AM
Dr. Alice said...
I wanted to buy a dress dummy (don't think I'm coordinated enought to duct tape myself). Any suggestions or recommendations?
1/5/04 1:19 PM
FauxZenaChick said...
As of last week, JoAnn Fabrics had "My Double" dummy on sale for $119.
1/10/04 10:12 AM
FauxZenaChick said...
As of last week, JoAnn Fabrics had a "My Double" dummy on sale for $119.
1/10/04 10:13 AM
Ant said...
What a clever idea - only problem is, my husband might not know when to stop taping!!!!!
2/20/04 6:13 PM
rox said...
Phew! I had some elaborate plan where I was going to papier-mâché myself... lol - I'm glad you brought up the duct tape idea...
2/27/04 8:30 PM
MarciClaus said...
I have been looking for a low cost alternative to buying a dress form. I wanted something that would replicate my shape as exactly as possible. This is a great idea.
4/26/05 3:32 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Sewing Workshop San Francisco Coat Pattern

Sewing Workshop San Francisco Coat Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)

Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.