SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > fitting yourself

Viewed 1763 times
Posted by: Brine
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Brine star
IL USA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 25
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
tips added: 20
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 2/17/14 12:13 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 11 people   Very Helpful by 19 people   
Although I have a regular digital camera, I've found that the most convenient (and fastest) way to check the fit by myself is to use the built-in camera on my iMac computer using Photo Booth. I click the button, quickly assume the desired pose and wait for the time delay. Although this does not give a high resolution image I have found that on a 21 inch screen the picture is sufficiently clear for me to read the wrinkles. I assume that other computers with built-in cameras with time delays can be used for this as well.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


11 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Adventurer said...
Thanks, I want to see if I can do something like that with an iPad. Good idea for when you want to find out how it looks right away.
2/18/14 0:29 AM
Nancy Mac said...
What a great idea! Thanks for sharing.
2/18/14 7:31 AM
Nancy Mac said...
There's a free app for iPad called "TimerCamera" it gives up to 15 seconds before picture is taken.
2/18/14 8:57 AM
ASiverson said...
I have never thought of doing this and since I am almost always alone when I am fitting myself, this will come in handy. TFS!
2/18/14 11:11 AM
EleanorSews said...
Brilliant. Now I'm off to add the app Timer Camera to my iPad. What a productive morning!
2/18/14 11:36 AM
swilliams said...
this is a great tip and the follow up ipod ipad iwhat timer is superb! I just learned today what a "selfie" is ( those weird pictures where the photographer holds the cell phone out and takes a picture of themselves mostly, girls pose with camel lips, and in your face group shots. I think Selfie could also be spelled cellfie or something like that. Still when you are stymied with a fit, there is nothing as great as going to a sewing ace and having them fiddle on you. I pay cash money for fit assistance and have sewers lined up at my doors. ; )
2/18/14 4:43 PM
swilliams said...
oh I was just wondering how do you hold the ipod up and then pose? I asked my cat and she told me to get a life.
2/18/14 4:46 PM
raggmopp said...
Inventive! Thank you for sharing.
2/18/14 9:54 PM
Annie- oh said...
Thanks for this tip, and the app info here, and the laugh, swilliams!
2/20/14 9:01 PM
sewmadd said...
Awesome!! I never thought of this....
3/24/14 3:00 PM
pamyjo2001 said...
Great idea
3/27/14 5:11 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Petite Plus 203 Pattern

Petite Plus 203 Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Smartie Pants Pattern

Favorite Things Little Smartie Pants Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.