SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > fitting yourself

Viewed 1671 times
Posted by: Brine
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Brine star
IL USA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 25
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
tips added: 20
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 2/17/14 12:13 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 11 people   Very Helpful by 18 people   
Although I have a regular digital camera, I've found that the most convenient (and fastest) way to check the fit by myself is to use the built-in camera on my iMac computer using Photo Booth. I click the button, quickly assume the desired pose and wait for the time delay. Although this does not give a high resolution image I have found that on a 21 inch screen the picture is sufficiently clear for me to read the wrinkles. I assume that other computers with built-in cameras with time delays can be used for this as well.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


11 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Adventurer said...
Thanks, I want to see if I can do something like that with an iPad. Good idea for when you want to find out how it looks right away.
2/18/14 0:29 AM
Nancy Mac said...
What a great idea! Thanks for sharing.
2/18/14 7:31 AM
Nancy Mac said...
There's a free app for iPad called "TimerCamera" it gives up to 15 seconds before picture is taken.
2/18/14 8:57 AM
ASiverson said...
I have never thought of doing this and since I am almost always alone when I am fitting myself, this will come in handy. TFS!
2/18/14 11:11 AM
EleanorSews said...
Brilliant. Now I'm off to add the app Timer Camera to my iPad. What a productive morning!
2/18/14 11:36 AM
swilliams said...
this is a great tip and the follow up ipod ipad iwhat timer is superb! I just learned today what a "selfie" is ( those weird pictures where the photographer holds the cell phone out and takes a picture of themselves mostly, girls pose with camel lips, and in your face group shots. I think Selfie could also be spelled cellfie or something like that. Still when you are stymied with a fit, there is nothing as great as going to a sewing ace and having them fiddle on you. I pay cash money for fit assistance and have sewers lined up at my doors. ; )
2/18/14 4:43 PM
swilliams said...
oh I was just wondering how do you hold the ipod up and then pose? I asked my cat and she told me to get a life.
2/18/14 4:46 PM
raggmopp said...
Inventive! Thank you for sharing.
2/18/14 9:54 PM
Annie- oh said...
Thanks for this tip, and the app info here, and the laugh, swilliams!
2/20/14 9:01 PM
sewmadd said...
Awesome!! I never thought of this....
3/24/14 3:00 PM
pamyjo2001 said...
Great idea
3/27/14 5:11 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern

You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.