SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Stash Folding like a Pro

Viewed 1456 times
Posted by: NhiHuynh
photo

 
 
About NhiHuynh starstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 1/4/11
Reviews written: 117
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 25 people
tips added: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 3/3/14 1:21 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people   Very Helpful by 15 people   
Web site/URL: photo
My fabric stash is stored on shelves. Folding them haphazardly makes them not stack well and fall over. To solve this problem I use a folding board to fold my fabric into uniform lengths and widths.

I used a small cutting mat that is slightly smaller than my shelf space. I wrap the fabric length wise and slide out the mat. Then I wrap the fabric width wise, again using the cutting mat as my template. After I slide out the mat my fabrics are about the same width and length and lay nicely on top of each other. No more toppling tower of fabric.

More pictures to illustrate this process on my blog http://www.detectivehoundstooth.com/stash-folding-like-a-pro/

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


16 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
SewLibra said...
I love this idea! I have my fabric on shelves too with the same problem. Thanks!
3/4/14 0:42 AM
SandiMacD said...
Clever!
3/4/14 1:43 AM
nothy lane said...
Great tip. Thanks
3/4/14 7:51 AM
mchinadoll said...
This is great idea. Thanks for sharing.
3/4/14 7:55 AM
Rhoda K said...
Great idea! Now to find a template.
3/4/14 9:42 AM
Melinda In Tulsa said...
Great idea, thank you!
3/4/14 9:56 AM
ASiverson said...
Wonderful idea and I need to try this myself. TFS!
3/4/14 12:36 PM
tatica said...
Great tip!
3/4/14 9:34 PM
Renee' S said...
Thank you for the this great tip. I made my template with some thin cardboard. It worked good, especially after I rounded off the corners. I got one fabric shelf refolded yesterday and it looks so nice and tidy. No pending fabric avalanches and now I can fit more fabric on the shelf - bonus. This morning before I left for work I had to go into my sewing room and admire that shelf :) I plan to work on the rest of my shelves this weekend.
3/5/14 11:31 PM
EleanorSews said...
How great is this?!? Perfect timing too. I was rummaging through stash and have a bed full of fabric to refold and put away. The irregular folding thing was slowing me down.
3/11/14 10:20 PM
ladyteri said...
Great Tip. My new sewing room is in process so this comes just in time!
3/12/14 10:05 PM
Sew Good said...
Wow! I have never seen anyone else's stash besides my grandmothers which was an entire room of fabric! Quite extreme. I only have 5 or 6 pieces of fabric in my stash. I hang them on pant hangers and place in the closet of my sewing room. I generally don't like to put fabric away because seeing and touching the fabrics is an important part of the creativity. I take the fabric out of the closet and hang the pieces in the room or drape them over the daybed so I can daydream about what I am going to make :) Thanks so much for sharing your idea and space.
3/21/14 10:05 AM
StitchyMama said...
I do something similar. I use comic book boards to wrap my fabric around and make mini bolts and store in a cabinet. Since it could be several months or years before I use the fabric I attach a card with the fabric length and fiber content
3/31/14 9:07 AM
FreyaStark said...
Great idea! Sounds like what I need to do.
3/31/14 6:32 PM
NhiHuynh said...
Thank you everyone for the nice comments. I had posted this tip and forgot all about it. I'm happy to see that its useful to others.
4/3/14 5:22 PM
karen n said...
I tried this with my serger manual which is right there and it was addictive and transformational. My stash has never looked better! It inspired me to organize everything!
4/6/14 1:50 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern

SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.