SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Off-label use for FOE (foldover elastic)

Viewed 2190 times
Posted by: Karla Kizer
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Karla Kizer starstarstar
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 68
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 79 people
tips added: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 3/8/14 7:44 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people   Very Helpful by 24 people   
I have a huge supply of foldover elastic, collected before I discovered that I don't LIKE foldover elastic. I'm also not a fan of clear elastic, though sometimes I wrestle with it because it adds reinforcement to the fold-and-topstitch edges on knits. A few weeks ago, when I just couldn't face the clear elastic battle, I pulled out a length of fairly weightless FOE, and cut it lengthwise along its manufactured fold line. I tugged on it after it was cut, and sure enough, it frayed badly along the cut edge. I peeled away the fray strings, stretched it a few more times until it surrendered and stopped fraying. Serged along the neckline and sleeve edges of a knit dress, it created a firm, but very flat and pliable edge when concealed inside the folded fabric. I was pleased enough with it that I cut and stretched more of it, so its ready to go the next time I need it.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


11 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Barbara3 said...
Thanks for sharing this technique. I don't recall it being mentioned here before. I mostly use clear elastic, but Loes Hinse taught this technique of using fold over elastic at her seminars some years ago, and sold a very soft variety of it. I agree that it works really well.
3/8/14 9:54 AM
sewme47 said...
Great idea! I'm going to try this :-)
3/8/14 10:00 AM
Karla Kizer said...
Barbara, I didn't know that Loes had used this method, too. And here I thought I was such a rebel....
3/8/14 11:11 AM
ryan's mom said...
Thanks, Karla! Such a great idea for my motherload of FOE. I'm not a huge fan of FOE and clear elastic either, although my one bra pattern calls for it. Other than that, now I know there is a use for much of it that will never get used.
3/8/14 6:35 PM
Pj3g said...
Great idea!
3/8/14 9:04 PM
CSM--Carla said...
What a great idea. I bought a bunch of it when it was a 'fad'--discussed on a board here on PR. Never could get it to sit nicely on the edge of my garments. I will use my stash in this way. Thank you.
3/9/14 8:54 AM
ASiverson said...
I would not have thought to try this. TFS!
3/9/14 10:18 AM
Flying Seamstress said...
Agree about both the clear elastic & FOE. TFS this awesome technique that I am definitely going to try!
3/9/14 11:09 AM
HeyJane said...
Great idea. I have a stash of this also that I've never used.
3/9/14 3:31 PM
Sewandwrite said...
YAY! Now I know what to do with the FOE I have that looks so crappy when applied to a neckline.
3/19/14 2:09 PM
cindyann said...
Great tip, Karla!! I'm not a fan of FOE either. To me it looks like something you'd put on the edge of a little girls undershirt.
3/26/14 10:19 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Chicago Jacket

Sewing Workshop Chicago Jacket

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.