SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Off-label use for FOE (foldover elastic)

Viewed 2293 times
Posted by: Karla Kizer
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Karla Kizer starstarstar
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 68
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 79 people
tips added: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 3/8/14 7:44 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people   Very Helpful by 24 people   
I have a huge supply of foldover elastic, collected before I discovered that I don't LIKE foldover elastic. I'm also not a fan of clear elastic, though sometimes I wrestle with it because it adds reinforcement to the fold-and-topstitch edges on knits. A few weeks ago, when I just couldn't face the clear elastic battle, I pulled out a length of fairly weightless FOE, and cut it lengthwise along its manufactured fold line. I tugged on it after it was cut, and sure enough, it frayed badly along the cut edge. I peeled away the fray strings, stretched it a few more times until it surrendered and stopped fraying. Serged along the neckline and sleeve edges of a knit dress, it created a firm, but very flat and pliable edge when concealed inside the folded fabric. I was pleased enough with it that I cut and stretched more of it, so its ready to go the next time I need it.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


11 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Barbara3 said...
Thanks for sharing this technique. I don't recall it being mentioned here before. I mostly use clear elastic, but Loes Hinse taught this technique of using fold over elastic at her seminars some years ago, and sold a very soft variety of it. I agree that it works really well.
3/8/14 9:54 AM
sewme47 said...
Great idea! I'm going to try this :-)
3/8/14 10:00 AM
Karla Kizer said...
Barbara, I didn't know that Loes had used this method, too. And here I thought I was such a rebel....
3/8/14 11:11 AM
ryan's mom said...
Thanks, Karla! Such a great idea for my motherload of FOE. I'm not a huge fan of FOE and clear elastic either, although my one bra pattern calls for it. Other than that, now I know there is a use for much of it that will never get used.
3/8/14 6:35 PM
Pj3g said...
Great idea!
3/8/14 9:04 PM
CSM--Carla said...
What a great idea. I bought a bunch of it when it was a 'fad'--discussed on a board here on PR. Never could get it to sit nicely on the edge of my garments. I will use my stash in this way. Thank you.
3/9/14 8:54 AM
ASiverson said...
I would not have thought to try this. TFS!
3/9/14 10:18 AM
Flying Seamstress said...
Agree about both the clear elastic & FOE. TFS this awesome technique that I am definitely going to try!
3/9/14 11:09 AM
HeyJane said...
Great idea. I have a stash of this also that I've never used.
3/9/14 3:31 PM
Sewandwrite said...
YAY! Now I know what to do with the FOE I have that looks so crappy when applied to a neckline.
3/19/14 2:09 PM
cindyann said...
Great tip, Karla!! I'm not a fan of FOE either. To me it looks like something you'd put on the edge of a little girls undershirt.
3/26/14 10:19 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Sewing Workshop Mimosa Top & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Mimosa Top & Pants Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern

You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.