SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Interfacing Alternative

Viewed 2331 times
Posted by: JuleScott
photo

 
 
About JuleScott
MD USA
Member since: 1/28/14
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 3/12/14 5:28 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 2 people   
Hate interfacing? So do I. Especially the iron on garbage. The less said about that the better.

Often I just leave it out. But when I can't, I use material from the project.

With shirt cuffs, I basically followed the instructions for interfacing, but sewed the reinforcing fabric to the WRONG side of the cuff piece that would be INSIDE. Because it is visible if I roll up the sleeves, I used

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


9 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
SewLibra said...
I think some of your text is missing, but I am not a fan of iron-on interfacing either. I do use it, but I get the very thin type. I will try your tip the next opportunity I get!
3/13/14 0:34 AM
nothy lane said...
Yes, I've used some of the fabric for the project for the interfacing and it has always worked fine. I too hate the iron in interfacing.
3/13/14 8:20 AM
ASiverson said...
Good tip!
3/13/14 10:06 AM
Jmacalister said...
Organza makes great interfacing on cotton, silk, and poly cuffs and collars
3/16/14 11:04 PM
Grumpygrouch said...
I can't stand fusibles either. I have customarily use the project fabric to back buttonholes, but I hadn't thought of doing cuffs the same way.
3/18/14 8:30 PM
Sew Good said...
I switched to fusible tricot at least 10 years ago. I find that it is vastly different than other fusibles and it isn't as stiff either. It is especially good on knits. If not using fusible tricot, I use Silk Organza. Those are the only two interfacing methods I use.
3/21/14 9:57 AM
Jmacalister said...
I agree 100% tricot or organza only except for tailoring!
3/21/14 6:38 PM
petro said...
Interesting how many others hate fusibles! Fusible fans tell me its because I don't use a good enough quality one. Old, well worn and washed clothes in natural fibres make a great standby for interfacing and interlinings.
4/4/14 8:04 AM
Sewing Joe said...
Glad to hear others hate fusible interfacing, although now I feel like less of a renegade for ignoring it in pattern instructions.
5/27/14 9:14 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Favorite Things Little Wrap Dress Pattern

Favorite Things Little Wrap Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern

Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.