SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Control Thread Ends on Bobbins with Press 'n Seal

Viewed 5139 times
Posted by: Lizz
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Lizz star
TN USA
Member since: 10/10/03
Reviews written: 45
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 8 people
tips added: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/2/04 6:41 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 11 people   
Featured in the PR book!
Bobbin thread unwinds very easily and before you know it, you have a nest of tangled ends no one will ever be able to undo! To keep the thread wound neatly around the bobbin, wrap a small piece of Glad's new Press 'n Seal food wrap around the bobbin, making sure to overlap and press securely. The Press 'n Seal is easily removed when you are ready to use the bobbin and can be reused many times.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Karla Kizer said...
What a great idea. This should work on "problem" threads, too. My Wooly Nylon drawer look like some kind of a rodent nest. Thanks, Lizz.
1/3/04 3:03 PM
karcar said...
Great ! I have alot of embrodiery thread that is loose
1/15/04 2:38 AM
Alice said...
Storring bobbins has always been a big problem. At one time Dritz made something which looked like a thumb tack that fit into the hole, you'd push the thread into it followed by this device, it worked great. I have one left, it must be 25 years old. Has anyone else heard of them? Loved this idea, Press 'n Seal is something I'd never heard of but will try.
1/18/04 10:38 AM
Dot said...
I started using this technique after I saw an add for a product that does the same thing. The Glad wrap is much cheaper.
1/19/04 7:04 PM
Battgirl said...
I tried that product Dot , it looked like plastic wrapped around a cotton reel. You would cut a small length off and wrap around your cotton reels or bobbins. I found it was much better suited to grafting trees with and useless in the sewing room.
1/20/04 3:17 AM
pats said...
For bobbins, I like to use a small piece cut off of a piece of PVC tubing. Cut the doughnut shaped piece narrow enough to fit around the thread on the bobbin then cut it vertically so you can slip it over the bobbin. These plastic pieces can be reused again and again.
2/4/04 7:21 PM
esmer said...
I love your idea! I have problems with bobbin thread going ever where. But now i will have control of this. Thank you very much.
5/7/05 1:00 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Jeans for Real People DVD Set

Jeans for Real People DVD Set

Buy Now
Newport Tote

Newport Tote

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.