SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Bobbin and thread storage

Viewed 1397 times
Posted by: CrisB
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About CrisB star
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 7
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
tips added: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 4/6/14 11:37 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people   Very Helpful by 12 people   
I have a lot of thread and now that I have cataracts matching the spool to the bobbin is becoming difficult. I had tried various techniques, such as cutting clear tubes to hold the thread on the bobbin and buying those hard plastic things you stick in the spool opening and sticking the bobbin on top. These things just didn't seem to work for me.

One day I was in Walmart and saw pig tail scrunchies and it occurred to me that they would be great at keeping the thread from unwinding on my bobbins. They fit and work perfectly. I started looking for long pipe cleaners that I found in the crafts section of Walmart. I thread the pipe cleaner through the bobbin with scrunchie and the spool, then twist the top of the pipe cleaner, and store them in an acid free plastic container.

While it isn't pretty, it really is helpful as I don't spend any time trying to match spool thread to bobbins, and I have started using more of the thread that I would not have much use for in projects where thread color isn't a problem.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Karen bj said...
I found stretch terry pony tail holders at the dollar store. I now have them on my embroidery thread and regular thread and it is a huge help!
4/23/14 4:22 PM
ksgentry said...
I have used the pigtail scrunchies as well for my tangled bobbin thread mess. I loved them but found that I could not tell what color thread was on the bobbin. I like the idea of using the pipe cleaner to hold to the corresponding spools I use a spool rack and am afraid that they won't fit on the rack with the added use of the center hole. I recently ordered something called Handi-Bobs from Nancy's Notions. You can clip your bobbin on the top and there is a small pin at the bottom that fits into your spool so that they are always together. They also sells these at your local Joann's Fabric store.
4/8/14 2:33 PM
Changma said...
I've used this trick, too, often using long twist ties instead of pipe cleaners. Also try to find pony holders in the same color family as the threads.
4/7/14 5:13 AM
SandiMacD said...
I will have to look for those pig tail things. Loose bobbin threads get so tangled. I used the pipe cleaner twists for spools with bobbin when traveling or if tossed in a drawer. Nut now that I switched to a spool case with spools sectioned off I don't need it. I tried Hugos amazing tape to control loosened bobbin threads but it takes a bit of work. Those pig tail things sound intriguing.
4/7/14 4:35 AM
Lovin To Stitch said...
I, too, had a problem keeping matching bobbin and spool together. After trying pipe cleaners, I found I preferred using fine florist/ bow wire.
4/7/14 1:11 AM
cst designs said...
Abit off topic- If you have the oppertunity to get your cataracts removed please do. I had mine removed in 2007. What a world of difference. Not only were they affecting my focus they were affecting my color perseption, my right eye gave everything a green cast and my left eye made everything an antique sepia. My vision was better immediatly. The whole thing took 1hour & 10 min. I didn't need any pain meds, not even tylanol. I was able to drive after 36 hours. Added bonus I was to go from bifocals to reading glasses only. If you are self pay be sure to shop around. Amoung recommended Dr.s I found prices from $2500. to $6500. per eye
4/6/14 5:19 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Perfect Pouches

Perfect Pouches

More Info
Lolita Patterns Olive Peplum Top Pattern

Lolita Patterns Olive Peplum Top Pattern

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.