SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Crepe paper streamer

Viewed 1823 times
Posted by: Shira Jacobson
photo

 
 
About Shira Jacobson star
Member since: 9/7/09
Reviews written: 4
Favored by: 1 people
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 4/20/14 12:41 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people   Very Helpful by 12 people   
Had some streamers left over from a party - they are super handy for using against the feed dogs when sewing a "sticky" material, or adding a little stability to a lightweight fabric while sewing. You can even wrap the streamer around the fabric edge while sewing if you need it on the bottom and top.

The paper tears away easily when the seam is done.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
biochemistress said...
Neat idea! Thanks for sharing.
4/21/14 7:33 AM
Shira Jacobson said...
Are you a biochemist? My background is in chemistry!
4/21/14 7:47 AM
ASiverson said...
TFS! Why do I never think of these things ! LOL! And I am not a biochemist or anything even remotely like that - unfortunately!
4/21/14 9:13 AM
cst designs said...
Be careful about colour transfer. At my baby shower they wraped my chair with streamers. By the end of the shower my dress had pastel streaks across the back.
4/22/14 11:53 AM
Shira Jacobson said...
Good point - my streamers were white, but a darker color could cause problems :)
4/23/14 12:34 PM
BeckyNoSleep said...
It could even transfer color to the bed of your sewing machine... I've had streamers stain my walls!
4/25/14 3:20 PM
raggmopp said...
A great idea--made perfect by the reminder to stick to white colored crepe paper. Thanks all!
4/29/14 7:45 AM
petro said...
Good idea! Another usually thrown away item which works under delicate fabrics/leather etc to help the machine to stitch through and prevent marks on the fabric is the till roll. Save the long receipt you get when you shop in a supermarket for groceries.
5/6/14 3:46 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Everyday Baskets

Everyday Baskets

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.