SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Twin Needle for Texture on Knits

Viewed 5338 times
Posted by: kittykate
photo

 
 
About kittykate star
Member since: 12/18/02
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 10 people
tips added: 2
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/8/04 1:10 PM
Last Updated: 9/3/09 10:17 AM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
Knit fabrics don't behave when sewing across the knit. They like to pucker and shift, usually when you're trying to get a nice flat hem on a t-shirt. Using a twin needle helps, as well as the finger behind the presser foot technique, I personally use steam a seam to stick it all together before I sew.

I thought, why not go with the flow on this? Instead of fighting the knit, use it's puckering abilities to add texture to the knit. I cut a t-shirt out of a patterned knit, any basic t-shirt pattern will do, then took the front, set up my sewing machine for twin needle and proceeded to abuse the fabric, stretching it, folding in ridges with my thumb, going loop the loop, around in circles. Using the twin needle with the tension a bit out of whack makes it ridge up a little bit between the stitches, adding even more dimension.
I then put the top together, using serger on the seams, and a wide 3 needle hem on the sleeves and bottom. I serged the neck, then folded it over and finished with twin needle, making the fabric behave in that instance so the neck wouldn't stretch out. My daughter was estatic, textured distressed hippie sort of things are all the rage.

So, don't fight the stretch in knits, take advantage of it and change the nature of the fabric.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


5 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
dead end kid said...
Sounds like fun.
1/30/04 5:09 PM
Deepika said...
How neat!
1/17/04 9:05 AM
kittykate said...

1/16/04 5:09 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Those tops do look good! I haven't played around with surface embellishment like this in a while...doing for kids clothes is a great idea.
1/16/04 3:18 PM
Mollykat said...
Very cool idea! do you have a pic of the finished T?
1/14/04 9:59 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Sewing Workshop Sandra Betzina Vest & Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Sandra Betzina Vest & Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Haiku Two Pattern

Sewing Workshop Haiku Two Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.