Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Twin Needle for Texture on Knits (Tip/Technique)
Viewed 5154 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 4 people   
Posted by: kittykate
photo
About kittykate star
Member since: 12/18/02
Reviews written: 42
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 10 people
tips added: 2
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/8/04 1:10 PM
Last Updated: 9/3/09 10:17 AM
Knit fabrics don't behave when sewing across the knit. They like to pucker and shift, usually when you're trying to get a nice flat hem on a t-shirt. Using a twin needle helps, as well as the finger behind the presser foot technique, I personally use steam a seam to stick it all together before I sew.

I thought, why not go with the flow on this? Instead of fighting the knit, use it's puckering abilities to add texture to the knit. I cut a t-shirt out of a patterned knit, any basic t-shirt pattern will do, then took the front, set up my sewing machine for twin needle and proceeded to abuse the fabric, stretching it, folding in ridges with my thumb, going loop the loop, around in circles. Using the twin needle with the tension a bit out of whack makes it ridge up a little bit between the stitches, adding even more dimension.
I then put the top together, using serger on the seams, and a wide 3 needle hem on the sleeves and bottom. I serged the neck, then folded it over and finished with twin needle, making the fabric behave in that instance so the neck wouldn't stretch out. My daughter was estatic, textured distressed hippie sort of things are all the rage.

So, don't fight the stretch in knits, take advantage of it and change the nature of the fabric.
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site

<< Previous Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mollykat said...
Very cool idea! do you have a pic of the finished T?
1/14/04 9:59 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Those tops do look good! I haven't played around with surface embellishment like this in a while...doing for kids clothes is a great idea.
1/16/04 3:18 PM
kittykate said...

1/16/04 5:09 PM
Deepika said...
How neat!
1/17/04 9:05 AM
dead end kid said...
Sounds like fun.
1/30/04 5:09 PM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us