SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Knife-edge baby hem

Viewed 6719 times
Posted by: Georgene
photo

 
 
About Georgene starstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 10/5/02
Reviews written: 110
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 97 people
tips added: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/18/04 8:40 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people   Very Helpful by 22 people   
It is very easy to get a baby hem without a special foot by turning/ clipping / turning again. The first turn can be 1/4" or less, and the stitch line as close to the folded edge as possible.

Then take a small scissor and clip the excess fabric of the turn back as close to the stitchline as you can. (Just be careful to not clip into the fabric of the garment by accident.)

The second turn back will be just the width of your first turnback, so keep that first turnback as narrow as possible. Topstitch over your first row of stitching. Only one row will show on the outside.

It gives a very tiny sharp edge and is great for sheer fabrics like georgette and chiffons.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
pebc said...
Could you please post a picture showing the finished look?
8/1/12 1:09 AM
Athene said...
Very helpful.
12/6/09 7:20 PM
Mahler said...
Thank you for this fantastic tip. It works wonderfully.
7/15/08 7:51 PM
eileen said...
Thank you for the tip; I'll try it. I'm self-taught and have done some pretty bad errors. Burda recommends that you just turn once and clip very close to the stitching. I did this on a blouse flouce recently but where the back of the flouce shows, it was pretty awful. The second turn should do the trick. I have a rolled hem foot and can't seem to get it to work properly.
4/30/08 6:51 AM
Shelai said...
I love making do with equipment/patterns you have, rather than running out to buy new gadgets etc. all the time.
4/6/05 1:52 PM
PVA said...
What a great tip! Thank you so much for sharing it! I've been sewing more years than I want to cop too, & I've never heard it before. I'm about to launch into a skirt that needs just such a hem, & this is GREAT timing!
8/24/04 8:49 AM
sewywabbit said...
This brings back memories of the times that I used to sew for weddingd. This was the only way to tame that cheap acetate moire everyone was using at the time. Using silk thread and this technique on chiffon makes the hem almost invisible.
5/20/04 5:57 PM
candyo said...
Or just get a rolled hem foot for your machine.
2/23/04 2:30 AM
KristenI said...
I've used this technique as well for a bias chiffon skirt, worked great.
1/23/04 3:26 PM
els said...
Georgene I do it the same way like you described,and found my appliqué scissor very handy to clip the excess fabric.
1/21/04 6:36 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern

Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.