SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > no-fray buttonholes

Viewed 5420 times
Posted by: Sew it seams
photo

 
 
About Sew it seams starstar
Member since: 7/15/03
Reviews written: 71
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 41 people
tips added: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/23/04 4:19 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 17 people   
Featured in the PR book!
After you have sewn your buttonholes and before you cut them, put a small drop of fray check on a small piece of wax paper or something similar. Dip the tip of a pin into the fray check and dab it on the buttonhole, just between the the stitching lines. Let it dry for 5 minutes, then you can cut the opening. The inside is nice and neat and does not fray.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


12 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Leora said...
Good idea. Thanks for the tip.
1/8/07 6:53 PM
regine said...
Great tip, thanks
5/5/06 7:33 AM
Ana Gill said...
Thanks for the tip - I tried it recently and it is fantastic - like KMangum I used the tip of th eFray Chek bottle and coated both sides of the button hole and once dried it cut beautifully ... thanks again
5/31/04 10:10 AM
Sew it seams said...
Yes, els you are right. That's why I think it is a good idea to put it on the fabric with the tip of a pin, because you can control the amount and where you put it.
3/19/04 8:31 AM
els said...
Please try this on a test piece of fabric first. Sometimes the fray check will add a stain on your fabric, which can not be removed.
3/15/04 12:56 PM
nolovelost said...
Debe, I just joined and am just starting to get into sewing a lot! I really appreciate this tip! I am sure I will use it! Thank you!
3/15/04 6:58 AM
Dinkalley said...
This is just the tip I was looking for! I can't wait to make the next buttonhole. Thanks!
2/28/04 2:43 PM
Megamom said...
Love this great tip...I know I'll use it next time I make buttonholes.
2/17/04 7:58 PM
renee90301 said...
This is a very good tip and I will be sure to use it often.
2/4/04 9:35 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
I have been sewing for many years and I never heard this. Perhaps because I don't know anyone that sews as much as I do or because I didn't find a site like this until recently. Thanks.
1/30/04 9:27 AM
Hilary said...
I do this too! Only I also just apply it directly from the bottle. I learned this tip from a friend who has her own alterations shop!
1/29/04 7:51 AM
KMangum said...
I'm not nearly so precise. The 'precision tip' bottle of Fray-Chek works really well. I coat the underneath of the *entire* buttonhole, threads and stitching both. You *must* let this dry before cutting!! or the buttonhole will be wobbly looking.
1/23/04 6:19 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

THE SKIRTS - A CD Book By Kenneth King

THE SKIRTS - A CD Book By Kenneth King

More Info
You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern

You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.