SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > no-fray buttonholes

Viewed 5393 times
Posted by: Sew it seams
photo

 
 
About Sew it seams starstar
MT USA
Member since: 7/15/03
Reviews written: 71
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 40 people
tips added: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/23/04 4:19 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 17 people   
Featured in the PR book!
After you have sewn your buttonholes and before you cut them, put a small drop of fray check on a small piece of wax paper or something similar. Dip the tip of a pin into the fray check and dab it on the buttonhole, just between the the stitching lines. Let it dry for 5 minutes, then you can cut the opening. The inside is nice and neat and does not fray.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


12 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Leora said...
Good idea. Thanks for the tip.
1/8/07 6:53 PM
regine said...
Great tip, thanks
5/5/06 7:33 AM
Ana Gill said...
Thanks for the tip - I tried it recently and it is fantastic - like KMangum I used the tip of th eFray Chek bottle and coated both sides of the button hole and once dried it cut beautifully ... thanks again
5/31/04 10:10 AM
Sew it seams said...
Yes, els you are right. That's why I think it is a good idea to put it on the fabric with the tip of a pin, because you can control the amount and where you put it.
3/19/04 8:31 AM
els said...
Please try this on a test piece of fabric first. Sometimes the fray check will add a stain on your fabric, which can not be removed.
3/15/04 12:56 PM
nolovelost said...
Debe, I just joined and am just starting to get into sewing a lot! I really appreciate this tip! I am sure I will use it! Thank you!
3/15/04 6:58 AM
Dinkalley said...
This is just the tip I was looking for! I can't wait to make the next buttonhole. Thanks!
2/28/04 2:43 PM
Megamom said...
Love this great tip...I know I'll use it next time I make buttonholes.
2/17/04 7:58 PM
renee90301 said...
This is a very good tip and I will be sure to use it often.
2/4/04 9:35 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
I have been sewing for many years and I never heard this. Perhaps because I don't know anyone that sews as much as I do or because I didn't find a site like this until recently. Thanks.
1/30/04 9:27 AM
Hilary said...
I do this too! Only I also just apply it directly from the bottle. I learned this tip from a friend who has her own alterations shop!
1/29/04 7:51 AM
KMangum said...
I'm not nearly so precise. The 'precision tip' bottle of Fray-Chek works really well. I coat the underneath of the *entire* buttonhole, threads and stitching both. You *must* let this dry before cutting!! or the buttonhole will be wobbly looking.
1/23/04 6:19 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Sewing Workshop Liberty Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Liberty Shirt Pattern

More Info
SewBaby Poncho Pizazz Pattern

SewBaby  Poncho Pizazz Pattern

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.