SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > no-fray buttonholes

Viewed 5352 times
Posted by: Sew it seams
photo

 
 
About Sew it seams starstar
MT USA
Member since: 7/15/03
Reviews written: 71
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 40 people
tips added: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/23/04 4:19 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 16 people   
Featured in the PR book!
After you have sewn your buttonholes and before you cut them, put a small drop of fray check on a small piece of wax paper or something similar. Dip the tip of a pin into the fray check and dab it on the buttonhole, just between the the stitching lines. Let it dry for 5 minutes, then you can cut the opening. The inside is nice and neat and does not fray.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


12 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
KMangum said...
I'm not nearly so precise. The 'precision tip' bottle of Fray-Chek works really well. I coat the underneath of the *entire* buttonhole, threads and stitching both. You *must* let this dry before cutting!! or the buttonhole will be wobbly looking.
1/23/04 6:19 PM
Hilary said...
I do this too! Only I also just apply it directly from the bottle. I learned this tip from a friend who has her own alterations shop!
1/29/04 7:51 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
I have been sewing for many years and I never heard this. Perhaps because I don't know anyone that sews as much as I do or because I didn't find a site like this until recently. Thanks.
1/30/04 9:27 AM
renee90301 said...
This is a very good tip and I will be sure to use it often.
2/4/04 9:35 PM
Megamom said...
Love this great tip...I know I'll use it next time I make buttonholes.
2/17/04 7:58 PM
Dinkalley said...
This is just the tip I was looking for! I can't wait to make the next buttonhole. Thanks!
2/28/04 2:43 PM
nolovelost said...
Debe, I just joined and am just starting to get into sewing a lot! I really appreciate this tip! I am sure I will use it! Thank you!
3/15/04 6:58 AM
els said...
Please try this on a test piece of fabric first. Sometimes the fray check will add a stain on your fabric, which can not be removed.
3/15/04 12:56 PM
Sew it seams said...
Yes, els you are right. That's why I think it is a good idea to put it on the fabric with the tip of a pin, because you can control the amount and where you put it.
3/19/04 8:31 AM
Ana Gill said...
Thanks for the tip - I tried it recently and it is fantastic - like KMangum I used the tip of th eFray Chek bottle and coated both sides of the button hole and once dried it cut beautifully ... thanks again
5/31/04 10:10 AM
regine said...
Great tip, thanks
5/5/06 7:33 AM
Leora said...
Good idea. Thanks for the tip.
1/8/07 6:53 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

SewBaby The Twirly Dress Pattern

SewBaby The Twirly Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.