SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > right side or wrong side of fleece?

Viewed 13673 times
Posted by: Sew it seams
photo

 
 
About Sew it seams starstar
MT USA
Member since: 7/15/03
Reviews written: 71
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 40 people
tips added: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/30/04 2:13 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 14 people   
Featured in the PR book!
An easy way to tell the right or wrong side of fleece (such as polartec) is to hold your fabric by the horizontal cut edge (the cross-grain) and pull slightly. The cut edge will curl to the wrong side (inside) of the fabric. It is sometimes hard to tell just by looking, but this little test works really well.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
JDpenelope said...
Thanks, Debe. I finally had to make notes on a 3 x 5 card that I keep handy when sewing fleece: "Curls to RIGHT side when pulled on selvage edge. Curls to WRONG side when pulled on crossgrain. Cross grain has more stretch." (I have a good memory, it's just not very long!)
2/2/04 7:26 PM
clematis said...
Great tip. Thanks. I've been having trouble with this and you've solved it. Will print for my bulletin board.
2/21/04 11:46 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
I really like this tip. I'm about to make a fleece poncho and I will certainly use this tip - because - to me - it is hard to tell the difference.
3/6/04 6:56 PM
JulieKalitis said...
I've almost finished making a polar fleece top and only realised half-way through that fleece *has* a right and a wrong side! I'll keep this tip in mind for next time :)
3/7/04 6:32 PM
gabesgram said...
This is a great tip! I've never worked with fleece and this has helped so much. Thanks Debe
11/22/05 9:34 PM
chayasew101 said...
Thank You! That's worked beautifully!
2/14/11 10:11 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

Petite Plus 601 Pattern

Petite Plus 601 Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Three Tees

Christine Jonson Three Tees

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.