SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Picking out little threads left after ripping out a seam

Viewed 5250 times
Posted by: Mary Stiefer
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Mary Stiefer starstarstarstar
CO USA
Member since: 2/17/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 36 people
tips added: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 2/24/04 8:12 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 8 people   
Featured in the PR book!
I don't know about the rest of you - but - there are a few times (hehehe) that I have a rip out a seam. Then I'm left with all those little threads that need to be picked out. The easiest and fastest way that I use is to take a piece of masking tape and press it down over the threads. Then, when I pull the tape up most of the threads come with it. Sometimes, because of the many threads, I may do this two or three times - but - it is still faster than me trying to pick them out.


<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
els said...
I use that too I do too using magic scotch tape,works great.
2/24/04 9:31 AM
carol eileen said...
lint rollers work great too, the type with masking tape on a cylinder. I also use it one my ironing board and fabric as kitty likes to be near and its just easier than constantly chasing her away.
2/24/04 11:07 AM
lhstitcher said...
Mary, I do this too, sure saves on tired eyes and fingers!
2/24/04 3:18 PM
alyssa said...
Very true, I've been using the same method for years
2/25/04 8:15 PM
Miss Fairchild said...
Thank goodness someone has found a way to do this! I've been using tweezers for years, and "Arthur" is telling me I can use them anymore.
11/4/04 7:24 AM
Miss Fairchild said...
Thank goodness someone has found a way to do this! I've been using tweezers for years, and "Arthur" is telling me I can't use them anymore.
11/4/04 7:24 AM
Cloud9 said...
Mary, this idea sounds so simple. what a time saver this will be. Another great use for tape in the sewing room--as indespensible as needles and tread.
7/15/05 1:34 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Favorite Things Little Sleep Well Pattern

Favorite Things Little Sleep Well Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Brynna Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Brynna Dress Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.