SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Picking out little threads left after ripping out a seam

Viewed 5262 times
Posted by: Mary Stiefer
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Mary Stiefer starstarstarstar
CO USA
Member since: 2/17/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 36 people
tips added: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 2/24/04 8:12 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 8 people   
Featured in the PR book!
I don't know about the rest of you - but - there are a few times (hehehe) that I have a rip out a seam. Then I'm left with all those little threads that need to be picked out. The easiest and fastest way that I use is to take a piece of masking tape and press it down over the threads. Then, when I pull the tape up most of the threads come with it. Sometimes, because of the many threads, I may do this two or three times - but - it is still faster than me trying to pick them out.


<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
els said...
I use that too I do too using magic scotch tape,works great.
2/24/04 9:31 AM
carol eileen said...
lint rollers work great too, the type with masking tape on a cylinder. I also use it one my ironing board and fabric as kitty likes to be near and its just easier than constantly chasing her away.
2/24/04 11:07 AM
lhstitcher said...
Mary, I do this too, sure saves on tired eyes and fingers!
2/24/04 3:18 PM
alyssa said...
Very true, I've been using the same method for years
2/25/04 8:15 PM
Miss Fairchild said...
Thank goodness someone has found a way to do this! I've been using tweezers for years, and "Arthur" is telling me I can use them anymore.
11/4/04 7:24 AM
Miss Fairchild said...
Thank goodness someone has found a way to do this! I've been using tweezers for years, and "Arthur" is telling me I can't use them anymore.
11/4/04 7:24 AM
Cloud9 said...
Mary, this idea sounds so simple. what a time saver this will be. Another great use for tape in the sewing room--as indespensible as needles and tread.
7/15/05 1:34 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Gracie Handbag

Gracie Handbag

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.