SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Easy, handy wastebasket by your machine

Viewed 5465 times
Posted by: SewVeryTall
photo

 
 
About SewVeryTall starstarstarstar
NE USA
Member since: 3/2/04
Reviews written: 161
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 63 people
tips added: 68
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 3/4/04 5:59 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 4 people   
I use a store sack and tape it to the right side of my sewing cabinet. A piece of tape at each side, so it hangs open just right. It's so handy for trimmed threads and fabric, that I never have to vacuum these things off the floor. I've done this for so many years that my right hand just goes directly to it with trash, without even thinking.
I should add, I'm a lefty...you might want your sack in a different place.
Concerned about tape stickiness left on your nice table or cabinet? Goo GoneŽ will remove it easily, smells like oranges, and won't hurt the table.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Annette H said...
Goo Gone is great! Gets rid of gummy bits left by labels (not for fabrics, though). Unfortunately I am nursing the last drops of Good Gone from England (can't get it here in Denmark) - but found that WD 40 (a spray for inside stalled car engines) works really well, too. engines
3/5/04 6:00 AM
Annette H said...
Goo Gone is great! Gets rid of gummy bits left by labels (not for fabrics, though). Unfortunately I am nursing the last drops of Good Gone from England (can't get it here in Denmark) - but found that WD 40 (a spray for inside stalled car engines) works really well, too.
3/5/04 6:01 AM
Sm said...
I always use eucaliptus oil to remove any sticky gum left behind from sticky labels, etc. It can be purchased from any chemist or store selling essential oils and is inexpensive, but you must be careful to keep away from children and pets as it is dangerous if drank, as I beleive is the case with many of the other essential oils.
3/5/04 6:55 AM
Stilltheone said...
I had done a similar thing, put a Hefy bag in a slot in a table leaf beside my machine. Luckily, I didn't throw out the bag. I was missing my buttonhole foot. The buttonhole foot and two spools of thread were in the bag when I went through it with rubber gloves on so as to not get cut with a pin or needle. Now I put a plastic bag on the floor and just drop things on it, then dump into the trash. Another sewing pal told me that she regularly goes through her serger trash bag and finds lost items.
3/18/04 9:06 AM
KathleenS said...
Very good tip.
3/19/04 3:04 AM
Astrostitcher said...
In the tropics the hollowed and dried calabash fruit is used as a bowl or a dipper. Used plain or painted with decorative bright colors, they can also be used in the workroon as little table "trash cans" for threads, clippings, scraps from rotary quilt piece cuttings, etc. They look nicer than plastic and are more personal - if you can find a calabash that is!
5/21/04 7:09 AM
PattiK said...
Great idea! I take things a bit further. I use a planter caddy, it has wheels, and roll my garbage can around with my foot so I never have to go looking for it!
5/23/04 12:55 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Favorite Things Little Smartie Pants Pattern

Favorite Things Little Smartie Pants Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson BaseWear One - Leggings, Top and Yoga Bodysuit

Christine Jonson BaseWear One - Leggings, Top and Yoga Bodysuit

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.