Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Slightly Stretchy Waistband (Tip/Technique)
Viewed 5289 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 14 people   
Posted by: Lisa Laree
photo
Friend of PR
About Lisa Laree starstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 242
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 86 people
tips added: 16
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 11/20/02 1:55 AM
Last Updated: 4/22/05 10:39 AM
Update 4/22/05 I have figured out a variation on this that even works for bulkier/stiffer fabrics...
Updated Slightly Stretchy Waistband

I first encountered this technique in a Threads (# 54) article on Donna Karan's wardrobe elements. Sandra Betzina has included it in her books, calling it the 'Designer Waistband that Grows'. It is a great technique and makes for very comfortable waistbands. The general idea is that the interfacing in a waistband is replaced by elastic. In a nutshell, the steps are
1) Before you cut, adjust the pattern (use your favorite method) to increase the garment waistline (and the waistband) so that it measures 2 - 3 inches MORE than your HONEST waistline measurement.
2) Sew the waistband to the garment with a 5/8" (preferably - it's easier to anchor the elastic to a wider SA) seam allowance; finish the other long edge.
3) Cut a piece of elastic the width of your desired finished waistband so that it is about 2 - 4 inches LESS than your waistline measurement (the actual measurement depends on the stretchiness of the elastic)
4) Quarter mark the waistline seam allowance and the elastic
5) Place the elastic so that it is between the seam allowance and the waistband, with one edge on the waistline seam
6) Turn the waistband toward the garment so that the seam allowance extends and overlaps the elastic, then machine baste across the elastic and the seam allowance ONLY at each end and at each quarter mark. This stitching is perpendicular to the waistband.
7) With the seam allowance extended and next to the feed dogs, and the elastic facing up, zigzag the elastic to the seam allowance, stretching the elastic to fit the waistband as you sew. Remove the basting.
8) Fold the ends of the waistband in half, RS together, with the finished edge folded to the wrong side so that the folded edge matches with the waistline seam; stitch across the ends, trim the seam allowances and turn the ends right side out, over the elastic.
9) Fold the waistband over the elastic, wrapping it tightly to the wrong side and pin the finished edge to the garment.
10) Vertically machine baste at regular intervals through the waistband and the elastic (I've tried skipping this step - it's not worth it! )
11) From the right side, stitch the waistband in the well of the seam; remove basting
12) Hand sew a trouser hook-and-eye to the ends of the waistband
13) Enjoy your nice, comfy, stretchy waistband the next time you go to a potluck supper…

For a more detailed description, including pictures of the process, see Power Sewing Step-By-Step by Sandra Betzina, pages 115-118
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site

<< Previous Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Jennie Pakula said...
I remember reading about this somewhere but could never find it again! Thanks for a clear & useful explanation.
12/1/02 10:36 PM
Debbie Spriggs said...
Oh Lisa, Thanks bunches. This is the waist treatment I have wanted to try.
1/13/03 4:08 PM
Aless said...
I was drawn to this review as I saw a similar technique used in a pair of trousers bought recently by my DH. Instead of the whole waistband lining being constructed using elastic, the trousers had a small(about 3")section of elastic just behind the side seams,attached to the waistband lining but not attached at the top or bottom of the elastic edges.(Hope that makes sense!) I was fascinated by this idea, but haven't had time to work out just how it was done.It just gives that tiny bit of waist adjustment allowance which some people need in RTW and could be copied by those who sew for themselves.
1/24/03 2:40 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Aless, I've seen that technique in RTW,too. I was puzzling out how to do it when I saw this technique and went with this instead. If you figure out how to do it, let us know!
1/24/03 10:47 AM
sewgirl said...
I've tried elastecizing the back of the waistband, but keeping the front interfaced, for that flat look.
1/10/04 7:51 PM
PVA said...
I remember seeing this a long time ago, and couldn't remember where. I'm goin to use it, and thanks, so much, for this review. I know it's a real winner!
5/29/04 11:02 PM
AnneM said...
I was just thinking about this concept the other day, although I hadn't gotten it figured out yet. Great tip. I really should check out that Power Sewing book.
7/21/04 8:08 AM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us