SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > embroidery tear-away stabalizer

Viewed 5224 times
Posted by: robinann
photo

 
 
About robinann
MT USA
Member since: 3/7/04
UnVerified member
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Intermediate
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 3/7/04 11:46 AM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
Featured in the PR book!
I found this tip on another web site awhile back and have used it ever since saving alot of money. Instead of using the expensive tear-aware stabalizer sold in all stores, use unused coffee filters pressed open. They are very cheap, you can use spray adhesive on them, and they tear away quite well in dense areas and being careful not to rip stitches, pull away in lightly embroidered areas.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


9 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
susie k said...
I have also used parchment paper, this works quite well too.
1/15/11 0:07 AM
Ellabell said...
Thanks for the tip on the coffee filters, I bought some at costco and now have enough tear away for years to come.
10/8/04 9:39 AM
Carolny said...
I tried this technique and it was very very helpful. I have been trying to reduce the thickness of my embroidery so that they are useable on clothes and are not like patches. This does the trick.
3/17/04 4:42 PM
robinann said...
hi victoriaj, i use stabalizer when i am embroidering or doing any decorative stitches on the sewing machine, it keeps the fabric you are sewing on from puckering and pulling down into the bobbin compartment. if the project is very dense on lightweight fabric, i use several layers of coffee filters. it works wonderfully.
3/12/04 8:01 AM
victoriaj said...
When exactly do you use a stablalizer?
3/11/04 1:30 PM
Stefstuff said...
This sounds like a great idea! I am going to the warehouse club to get the industrial size this weekend so I can try it out on the bigger hoop! Thanks for sharing!!!
3/9/04 7:42 AM
vita said...
Fantastic!
3/8/04 11:37 PM
LSBCATS3 said...
I like this idea. It is a cheap alternative and something always around the house in case of midnight urge to embroider something.
3/8/04 11:29 AM
Mollykat said...
Great idea!
3/8/04 9:16 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Making Patterns from Existing Garments - A CD book by Kenneth King

Making Patterns from Existing Garments - A CD book by Kenneth King

More Info
Jamie Christina Palooza Apron Pattern (JC309PA)

Jamie Christina Palooza Apron Pattern (JC309PA)

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.