Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Hand sewing is your friend (Tip/Technique)
Viewed 5129 times
Review rated Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 2 people   
Posted by: drsue
photo
About drsue starstarstarstar
Member since: 11/11/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 184 people
tips added: 11
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 3/7/04 6:48 PM
I am just adding this because on a prior pattern review, one that called for hand sewing, there were many comments be readers that they didn't/wouldn't hand sew. Often times when I am making complex garments, I must hand sew in order to finish the garment. This is especially true if I have ripped out something and had to re-sew. At that point it is often impossible to fix the problem with a sewing machine. I have often thought of my use of had sewing as "cheating" but now I realize that you need to do what ever it takes to make your garment. the three stitches I use most of the time in sewing garments are back stitching (great for seams), slip stitching (good for sewing seems from the right side but less stong that back stitching), and cat-stitching (good for loose hems.)
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Liana said...
I agree completely. Often it is so much quicker to stitch by hand than to pin, adjust, put it under the presser foot, adjust some more, etc., especially for a short seam. They are often vital, and have no room for error.
3/7/04 11:35 PM
SewVeryTall said...
Hand sewing is very relaxing to me, I look at it as an 'opportunity' to leave my sewing room, go sit in a comfy chair in the livingroom, and watch tv while still 'getting something useful done'. I agree, sometimes it's quicker and the best way to sew a difficult-to-reach area perfectly. I think a backstitch is just as strong as machine stitching, too.
3/8/04 6:26 AM
Annette H said...
Yes, it's relaxing to hand sew. It allows you to meditate, listen to music, and I like to think that it adds to the personality of the garment.
3/8/04 5:23 PM
Penny Carlson said...
It seems like home sewing had a period where one tried to complete a project completely on the machine...sewing by hand was declasse. Thank goodness we have passed that phase! Hand sewing is the couturiere way and adds value to the garment.
3/8/04 9:59 PM
CatherineN said...
Hand sewing lets you be more precise in difficult areas. I always feel more in control with a needle in my hand. I believe the stitch you are referring to is "catch stitch".
3/9/04 11:03 PM
drsue said...
Thanks Catherine. I knew "cat" was wrong but it's just something I picked up from my grandmother so I wasn't sure what the right term was.
3/10/04 9:23 AM
imaGINation said...
I'm brand new to this site and need to improve my hand sewing techniques. I'd like to know how to do a rolled hem on chiffon , organza, etc. for my new business making bridal accessories. Can someone help me with this? Thanks
4/8/04 8:47 AM
drsue said...
imaGINation: You probably should invest in books by Claire Schaeffer and Susan Khaje (i'm sure I spelled that wrong the book is "bridal couture I believe). I know there have been threads on this topic on the message board. Also search the base of knowledge.
4/9/04 11:51 AM
Mini said...
It makes me so sad when new sewers think that hand sewing makes things homemade, or somehow is not right. Consider that the finset-and miost costly-couture clothing involves hand sewing. Also, if you look inside quality vintage clothin you will detect hand details even in ready to wear. Done correctly hand sewing adds to the value and beauty of what you sew. Many finicky small sewing detials are easy when done by hand, and frustrtating and awkward on a machine. As Drsue says, do what you have to do to get the project done, whether that is hand or machine work. Imagination, you can Google this topic and find some goo sites that show some of the most useful hand techniques. I also LOVE Claire Schaeffer's books, and highly reccommend them.
4/9/04 1:44 PM
Mini said...
P.S. Fortunately, I sew a lot better than I type:)!!
4/9/04 1:45 PM
Frosty772 said...
Actually Cat-Stitching and Catch-Stitching is both correct. In my book "Authentic Victorian Dressmaking Techniques" The term Cat-Stitching is the one given. In the description in the stitch it claims it is "sometimes" called Catch-Stitching (Mind you this is a 1905 reprint of "Dressmaking up to date)
4/9/05 6:09 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Frosty's right -- Dictionary.com: "catch stitch –noun Sewing. a large cross-stitch used in finishing seams and in hemming. Also called catstitch."
1/20/08 8:29 AM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us