Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Pattern Tracing Material (Tip/Technique)
Viewed 5252 times
Review rated Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 6 people   
Posted by: Mary Stiefer
photo
Friend of PR
About Mary Stiefer starstarstarstar
CO USA
Member since: 2/17/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 37 people
tips added: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 3/8/04 11:14 AM
Featured in the PR book!
Most sewers will know this - but - beginners won't. I save all of my patterns and trace them on a pattern tracing material that I buy at the fabric store. The tracing material that I use is 100% nylon and will not tear.

But the good part is that you can mark your fabric, with a fabric marking pen (after you test it on the fabric) right through the tracing material. No need for tracing paper. Makes cutting patterns go much quicker.
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

<< Previous Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Stitchology said...
It's a good idea to put something underneath when marking. My poor cutting mat has faint fragments of lines and numbers on it in indelible ink that went through the pattern material.
3/8/04 12:00 PM
vita said...
There are many recommended types in the archives here at PR. I prefer the Seedish Tracing paper. It is really sturdy, and holds up well when repeatedly used. (I make costumes, leotards, tutus, pants etc. for a non profit ballet co., and also some local competition dance teams. I may need to make several dozen of the same leotard with variations.) I create most of these patterns myself, and the fact I can sew through them while designing is very time saving. Thank you for the tip on marking through the paper iteself. I can see the use for some of my own clothing! That really would be a time saver!! And StitchMD, you probably saved me from a few new lines on my mat!
3/8/04 11:32 PM
vita said...
Please excuse the typo - I was referring to SWEEDISH Tracing Paper. Most probably know, but I'd hate for someone to try to 'google' the wrong thing!
3/8/04 11:36 PM
kathi s said...
I have been experimenting with plastic roll table cloth material- the kind you get at party stores. I needed something to trace on and didn't wait until I could drive the 18 miles to Hancock's so use this stuff that I had left over. You can see through it adequately to trace and it sews very well. After I "play" a little more I'll post a review. It's very cheap.
3/9/04 8:57 AM
wildhoney269 said...
Well I'm a beginner and that's a great tip for me! I already cut two patterns that came out in the incorrect size after I sewed them. Only one was too small, but I can't reuse the patterns I cut. And I haven't been able to figure out the marking paper without tearing the flimsy pattern. I'm going to go find some of this nylon material.
3/9/04 1:56 PM
PamJr said...
What is the name of this tracing paper? I mean, how would I find it or even ask where I might find it?
3/12/04 2:09 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
According to the fabric board (I bought the whole thing) is says "Pattern Tracing Cloth". I hope that helps. There isn't a company or manufacturer name on it. I purchased this at Hancock Fabrics but I have also seen it at Joann's.
3/13/04 9:53 AM
nolovelost said...
Mary, this is a great tip for me as not only am I a new member and sewer, I also use the multiple size patterns and go up and down in size 10 to 12! Thank you very much!
3/15/04 7:14 AM
Sew4Flecky said...
Mary, thank you very much for this tip!! I am also a beginner and I was looking for tracing paper, but was told that tissue paper is cheaper and works just as well. But, I am finding out that it also rips easily, so thatnk you again.
3/24/04 5:42 AM
Tonya said...
I'm personally fond of "true grid", a tracing paper/quilting notion that has 1" squares marked on it. It's especially helpful when drafting patterns or adjusting patterns a certain measurment. A bit more expensive, but for me, worth it.
3/28/04 1:16 PM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us