SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Basting with an obvious color of thread

Viewed 5280 times
Posted by: Mary Stiefer
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Mary Stiefer starstarstarstar
CO USA
Member since: 2/17/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 36 people
tips added: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 3/13/04 2:33 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 1 people   
Featured in the PR book!
Whether you machine baste or hand baste, it is much easier to pull out your basting thread if you use a color that is obvious on your material rather than what you are sewing with. I am working on a black blouse and, in the case of basting, it is much easier to see a white thread.

Hope this helps. It has certainly made my sewing life much easier.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Mary Stiefer said...
I guess I should have mentioned this in the original tip. I never, ever iron or wash anything without taking out my basting thread. Sorry.
5/25/04 10:47 AM
Tini said...
speaking about bleeding. I threadtraced with red thread on light blue fabric and now I dumped the blazer into the trashbin, because I wasn't able to get the red colour out of the fabric :(
4/25/04 2:31 AM
Stilltheone said...
Please use caution especiallyon light fabrics. I have read that's why basting thread comes only in white. Steam from your iron can cause color transfer from thread.
4/4/04 2:12 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Thanks ladies - I will certainly take your advice
3/14/04 9:57 AM
Tee Jay said...
Andee's addition is good advice, I basted a hot pink when using a blue boucle and when I needed to take it out I kept finding little spots of pink I couldn't pick out of the fuzzy boucle. An off color blue would've been better.
3/14/04 9:22 AM
Andee said...
Very good advice, but I modify that to a color somewhat different that the color of whatever you are sewing, because if for some reason you machine sew over the basting thread it can be very difficult to get out every last fiber of the off color thread. So, for example, try something like a royal blue basting thread on a Navy blue garment. If a tiny, tiny bit of that thread gets stuck in your fabric it is much less likely to show.
3/14/04 7:55 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

BIRTH OF A BUSTIER - A CD Book by Kenneth King

BIRTH OF A BUSTIER - A CD Book by Kenneth King

More Info
Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern

Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.