SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Finding great buttons at thrift stores

Viewed 5313 times
Posted by: Oopsy-Daisy!
photo

 
 
About Oopsy-Daisy! starstarstar
TX USA
Member since: 11/16/02
Reviews written: 125
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 32 people
tips added: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 3/15/04 11:28 AM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 9 people   
Featured in the PR book!
Something to keep in mind when the the thrift stores have their special colored tag and $1 sales -- check those dress, blouse and suit racks for buttons. Even the skirts-I found a denim button front skirt with 20 buttons for $1. I now have tons of mother-of-pearl buttons, too. My latest find was a quarter-sized button with an abalone outer ring and an intricate marcasite-like silver design in the center. A double feature: You can find some great buttons *and* support your local charitable organization!

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
sewtall1963 said...
good tip!
10/21/04 9:49 AM
milch said...
i love this idea. i go to a fantastic thift shop that's luckily close by. i look at the fabrics, the buttons, the construction and dream about the possibilities that can be had for so little money.
10/1/04 5:01 PM
Mary Lou Sohn said...
I've done this for as long as I've been sewing. If you have need for them, check out those cutesy animal and flower buttons in brights and pastels on the kids' clothing. I've seen items that looked like they were discarded just because one of the little strawberry buttons (or whatever) was missing.
5/2/04 6:54 AM
simplysew said...
I agree, great tip: as you can really find some unique buttons
3/17/04 3:02 AM
SewingSusan said...
I haven't thought of this either. What a great idea! I recently purchased an incredible vintage wool swing coat with a real fur collar at our local thrift store for only $3.00! I had it professionally cleaned for 19.50 and it looks fantastic. I'm going back to look for buttons :).
3/16/04 5:41 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Excellent tip. I work for a nonprofit that has numerous thrift stores and the bargains are terrific. I have found some nice tops to embroider, but truly have not thought about buttons!! Good tip.
3/16/04 6:05 AM
PattyU said...
Great tip.
3/15/04 3:18 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
I like this idea and have done this many times. You can surely find some wonderful buttons.
3/15/04 12:09 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

All About Linings
All About Linings

Register

Checkbook Cover

Checkbook Cover

Buy Now
PerfectFuse Sheer Black

PerfectFuse Sheer Black

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.