SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Stabilize before merrowing.

Viewed 5369 times
Posted by: Rennie Ashby
photo

 
 
About Rennie Ashby starstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 4/8/02
UnVerified member
Reviews written: 108
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 62 people
tips added: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 3/18/04 9:34 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 11 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Picked this up recently watching Sew Much More. When you don't want a lettuce edge with a serger rolled hem finish(merrowing), do a line of straight stitching to stabilize it first. It's kind of like a line of staystitching. You'll also have a nice guide for merrowing. I did this on the bias front and the sleeves of my peasant top with very good results.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
katieb said...
Thanks, I'll add that to my serger tips for future reference.
3/19/04 6:31 AM
Jennie Pakula said...
'merrow' - now that's one for the next scrabble game! Where does that word come from?
3/21/04 8:19 PM
Tonya said...
Even my trusty "www.onelook.com" doesn't give me any help with "merrowing". Does have "merrow", which is apparently an old word for "mermaid". Perhaps the technique is similar to something on a mermaid? LOL
3/28/04 1:14 PM
Rennie Ashby said...
Merrow is a company that makes merrowing machines. These are the ones that "merrow" around sew-on embroidered badges, etc. They sell for over $2000. The rolled hem looks similar. I've heard these terms used interchangably in home sewing.
3/30/04 9:15 PM
Eider said...
Where and when do you see "Sew Much More" ? I am assuming it is a program on TV , what state do you watch it in ?
3/31/04 2:33 PM
Rennie Ashby said...
Hi, Eider. SMM is on at 1p here in coastal NC on http://diynetwork.com/ with host, Susan Khalje.
4/1/04 7:32 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Great tip! I think I'll re-hem the edges of a bias skirt with this.
5/14/05 9:56 PM
W. Anderson said...
That is a great suggestion. Thanks
9/21/06 4:26 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Sewing Workshop West End Top & Pants

Sewing Workshop West End Top & Pants

Buy Now
SewBaby "I Can Do It" Cloth Activity Book Pattern

SewBaby

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.