SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Stabilize before merrowing.

Viewed 5423 times
Posted by: Rennie Ashby
photo

 
 
About Rennie Ashby starstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 4/8/02
UnVerified member
Reviews written: 108
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 62 people
tips added: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 3/18/04 9:34 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 11 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Picked this up recently watching Sew Much More. When you don't want a lettuce edge with a serger rolled hem finish(merrowing), do a line of straight stitching to stabilize it first. It's kind of like a line of staystitching. You'll also have a nice guide for merrowing. I did this on the bias front and the sleeves of my peasant top with very good results.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
katieb said...
Thanks, I'll add that to my serger tips for future reference.
3/19/04 6:31 AM
Jennie Pakula said...
'merrow' - now that's one for the next scrabble game! Where does that word come from?
3/21/04 8:19 PM
Tonya said...
Even my trusty "www.onelook.com" doesn't give me any help with "merrowing". Does have "merrow", which is apparently an old word for "mermaid". Perhaps the technique is similar to something on a mermaid? LOL
3/28/04 1:14 PM
Rennie Ashby said...
Merrow is a company that makes merrowing machines. These are the ones that "merrow" around sew-on embroidered badges, etc. They sell for over $2000. The rolled hem looks similar. I've heard these terms used interchangably in home sewing.
3/30/04 9:15 PM
Eider said...
Where and when do you see "Sew Much More" ? I am assuming it is a program on TV , what state do you watch it in ?
3/31/04 2:33 PM
Rennie Ashby said...
Hi, Eider. SMM is on at 1p here in coastal NC on http://diynetwork.com/ with host, Susan Khalje.
4/1/04 7:32 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Great tip! I think I'll re-hem the edges of a bias skirt with this.
5/14/05 9:56 PM
W. Anderson said...
That is a great suggestion. Thanks
9/21/06 4:26 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.