SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Clipping w/a buttonhole cutter

Viewed 5190 times
Posted by: Liana
photo

 
 
About Liana starstarstarstar
NE USA
Member since: 8/31/03
Reviews written: 94
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 125 people
tips added: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 3/19/04 2:47 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
Featured in the PR book!
I use the chisel type buttonhole cutter to clip into seam allowances when I want them to lie flat. You never have to worry about clipping too far, or too little (which is a very common cause of curves that won't lie flat.)
This is also the best tool for cutting the little angle cuts at the ends of bound buttonholes. Again, you will never cut too much or too little.
I use it in any situation where I need a small, precise cut.
They are also perfect for buttonholes, of course.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
SewVeryTall said...
Excellent tip. Especially for those whose scissors' blade tips are stubborn. Clipping a curve properly is so important.
3/20/04 4:36 AM
Annette H said...
Hadn't thought of this. I use embroidery scissors for clipping curves, but they are so sharp and can easily cut into seams.
3/20/04 6:57 AM
AnneM said...
What a nice idea! Thanks for the tip.
3/20/04 7:45 AM
Mandolin82 said...
Great hint!
3/20/04 1:58 PM
Diane Yaghoobian said...
I bought one of these because I read so often how it made perfect buttonholes, no cuts. I have been very disappointed in it. The wood block broke after the first use, and the chisel goes right through your stitches with greater ease than anything else you might use.
3/31/04 9:08 PM
Liana said...
Diane, I'm so sorry you had trouble. Yes, it will cut through stitches too, but since you can place it so precisely, I've had no trouble cutting where I did not want to. Can't imagine what happened to your block! Hope you try again, and have better luck.
4/1/04 9:50 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Buy Now
PerfectFuse Light White

PerfectFuse Light White

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.