SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Class Reviews > CSC Sewing School

Hawaii, JAPAN
Viewed 5762 times
Posted by: chocobar
photo

 
 
About chocobar star
JAPAN
Member since: 3/9/02
Reviews written: 11
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
classes reviewed: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 11/20/02 11:25 PM
Rating: starstarstar
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 1 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Probably not too many of you will be dropping by this area for an extended stay, but what the heck...

CSC Sewing School has different programs geared for different purposes: hobbyist, professional in training, professional. The school is only open three days per week, and classes are given in two-hour blocks. The most popular class is "Hobby Sewing," where you work on a project of your choice from start (making the pattern) to finish. When there is a new technique to learn in the project, you must purchase a practice packet which has all the materials needed to make a sample, including instructions. The whole sample is made up, put in a notebook, and then you move on to the real thing. Some of these packets include different types of zipper applications, welt pockets, lining, etc.

The professional classes include pattern drafting, industry sewing, and CAD patternmaking. The people in the professional classes are often working toward licensing.

I am taking pattern drafting and sewing. The pattern drafting class is a theory class. We use the textbook for Level 3 Patternmaking, and if after finishing the book I choose to take the test (and pass), I can get the license and move up to Level 2. I haven't decided whether I want to go on the professional track yet, so am taking it under the "hobbyist" umbrella of classes (both registration and cost is different depending on the track). Most recently, we learned how a sloper is made by draping on mini forms, then transferring the markings to paper to make a flat pattern. Our slopers were compared to industry standard slopers, and it was interesting to see how little difference there is between them. It is all a matter of how and where the darts are placed, and how much ease is included.

In sewing class, it is required to make a simple back wrap skirt as a first project; after that, you can choose anything. Before making a coat, however, the first set of packets must be completed: various zippers, welt pockets.

The camaraderie is great. Everyone really gets into everyone else's projects and there is lots of support.

The main minus of this class is that although one can choose any two hour block(s) to attend, except for patternmaking, which is only given specific days and times, there are only two teachers and a roomful of people working on different projects. It sometimes feels that a lot more could get done if the teachers were more available. You can ask them for help anytime, but if they are in the middle of helping someone else, you have to wait until they are done. Of course, that is how it is in just about any class, but here noone is working on the same thing and the teachers are flitting back and forth and sideways around the room to get to everyone.

Here's a sample of the text and one of the packet texts (have to scroll down to see the fly front zipper application sample and text):
http://www6.ocn.ne.jp/~sewing51/skil/skil.htm#tebikisyo

Here's a link to some classroom pics:
http://www6.ocn.ne.jp/~sewing51/kyoushitu/kyoushitu.html
You can't see too much in these, though.

Since there aren't very many schools like this around, some of the students come from relatively far and stay for more than one class block.

P.S. This class is not in Hawaii, but I needed to fill the state in and that's the closest!

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Sewing Class Review    Read All Sewing Class Reviews


11 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
said...
where is this school located?
11/21/02 0:09 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Melinda Hull said...
Since I live in Tokyo (Ogikubo to be precise), I too am very interested in finding out exactly where the school is located if it is in Japan.
11/21/02 3:47 AM
Melinda Hull said...
Well to answer my own question, after checking the web site, I discovered the school is in Osaka. Definitely looks interesting, but Osaka is not really within commuting range of Tokyo. Too bad!!
11/21/02 8:03 AM
Shannon Gifford said...
Pamela, this is fascinating. I really like the idea of the packet text.....could be something I might adapt for my own teaching. Thanks for the review!
11/22/02 10:33 AM
chocobar said...
Wow! I'm not alone here? Nice to see some other Japanites at PR! There must be a similar school (probably schoolS) in Tokyo. Bunka College (or whatever it's called) is located in Tokyo, and they offer "hobby sewing" classes as well as course study. I will look up hte web page if you are interested. They also advertise in some of the sewing magazines. One reason I was so happy to find this school is that most are fashion/sewing schools that require more frequent attendance (i.e. 5 days/week, long hours, homework) with graduation and licensing in mind. While I would love to do that, it is not feasible right now.
11/23/02 4:40 AM
chocobar said...
sew_teardrop, the class is located in Osaka Prefecture in Japan. Some fo the students come all the way from Kyoto and Kobe, a good one hour trip. Shannon, after we finish these packets, we are supposed to keep them in a folder to review if needed. I am also starting to keep notes on my projects as I sew. There are no written instructions for each thing we do, including the layout. In a way, I think it is good as it helps us less dependent on instructions. By the way, the way we are taught to lay out the patterns is different from what I had done. The fabric is laid out, then the pattern is laid on top with push pins(!) and we trace around the pattern with tailors chalk. The pattern is removed, then the fabric is cut along the marked lines. Darts and such are marked one layer at a time with one sided tracing paper and a tracing wheel.
11/23/02 4:47 AM
Melinda Hull said...
No you are not alone. Perhaps we should start a Japan sewing group! I actually did the translation for the Sugino Fashion College a couple of months ago. But as I was doing it, I definitely got the impression that everything was fulltime and was for professionals. If you ever come to Tokyo, we should get together. I also sometimes make it to Osaka on business.
11/26/02 10:05 AM
chocobar said...
Oh, yes, that would be fun. Here's my email addy: chocobarsews@yahoo.com I'd love to hear the great shopping places in Tokyo as well. I'm finding lots of hidden (to me until now) wonders in Kansai.
11/28/02 7:58 PM
Melinda Hull said...
There are some interesting stores in Tokyo. I live 10 minutes by train by a large store called Yuzawaya that has loads of material and every possible notion you can imagine. The material is nice but as with most things in Japan, it is a whole lot cheaper to buy the same thing online. However that said, I could not sew without it. There is also supposed to be great material near a station called Nishi-Nippori. One of these days I will have to go there. Now that I know there are others living in Japan who are on PR, I will have to write some store reviews!!
11/30/02 0:12 AM
dustbunny said...
Hey, I've just moved to Tokyo and this school sounds great, too bad it's not in Tokyo. I'm still looking for a sewing class here. I will definitely be checking out those shops too!
4/11/03 6:37 AM
BexDressed said...
For those of you in TOKYO, JAPAN Sugino DOREME Gakuin (Meguro, Tokyo) Sewing Classes in English: http://www.dressmaker-gakuin.ac.jp/dept/special.html Dressmaker Gakuin Sugino Gakuen (MAP) https://www.sugino.ac.jp/doreme/about/access.html FLEX INTERNATIONAL COURSE The FLEX INTERNATIONAL COURSE is open to foreigners who intend to learn dressmaking according to their own schedule. ○ Instruction in English ○ Specialized Subjects: Pattern-Cutting, Fitting, Sewing ○ Everybody is welcome regardless of previous Experience in dress-making (Japanese students are also accepted.) Admission Period At all times Class Hours Thursday  / 10:00 a.m. ~ 12:00 / 13:00 ~ 15:00 p.m. For more information, please request a brochure of special class enrollment. : Public Relations Division Admissions 03-3491-8152 03-3491-8152
9/19/12 6:48 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Sewing Workshop Verona Jacket & Coat

Sewing Workshop Verona Jacket & Coat

Buy Now
Wonder Wallet

Wonder Wallet

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.