SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Identifying back and front of garment

Viewed 5274 times
Posted by: LiZ
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About LiZ starstarstar
Member since: 7/31/03
Reviews written: 140
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 49 people
tips added: 4
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 3/20/04 1:08 AM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
Featured in the PR book!
When making clothes for children [especially elastic waisted pants] I sew in a marker at the centre back of garment waist so when learnig to dress themselves they are easily able to work out which way to put garment on and not have to ask mum. I just use a cotton twill tape

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
nursesarah79 said...
When i am out of lables i use ribbon loops. I have also been known to use elastic as a marker. when i trim the elastic ends off after sewing the elastic together, i just took the little piece of elastic and used as a tag.
7/23/04 0:07 AM
J_J said...
I do this too. I use ribbon, bias tape, whatever's handy. When I do this for my grandkids, I machine stitch their initials on the marker. The kids get a kick out of it, and it makes it easy to sort and fold the clean laundry into the right piles.
3/25/04 11:08 AM
ReneeO said...
I should have done this for myself, yesterday while making outfit for dear niece, I sewd the drawstring into the shorts backwards! now they tie in the back instead of the front!!! If I hadn't already cut the button holes for the string I would change it. O'well the top for the outfit is open back so it looks like a design feature :) I'll mark it next time! Thanks for the tip
3/22/04 9:41 PM
Ann C said...
My grandma and mom always hand sewed an X in a contrasting thread on the inside of the casing at center back. I have done this for my son's garmets also.
3/22/04 7:56 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
I put my personalized sewing tags in the back of pants and this works too. Then the grandbabies know it came from grandma.
3/20/04 10:57 PM
SewVeryTall said...
Great tip. I do this too, even in adult elastic waist pants [like PJs], it makes the back so quick and easy to identify. I just use a leftover 3" piece of grosgrain ribbon, folded in two, and pin the raw edges into the back seam before I sew it. The ribbon just needs to be long enough so that it extends beyond the seam allowance, and in a color that shows up easily. Be sure to attach it low enough, so that it will be below the elastic casing area. I have a 3" piece of grosgrain leftover everytime I make a hat...I think it's just too kewl that this has a good use.
3/20/04 4:21 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Fanny Pack or Purse

Fanny Pack or Purse

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.