Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Using woolly nylon (Tip/Technique)
Viewed 6908 times
Review rated Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 8 people   
Posted by: Mel.J
photo
About Mel.J starstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 7/30/02
Reviews written: 36
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 40 people
tips added: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 11/8/02 1:08 AM
Last Updated: 1/8/05 3:20 AM
Featured in the PR book!
On the overlocker, only use woolly nylon in the loopers.

On the sewing machine, use woolly nylon in the bobbin thread when sewing with a twin-needle to allow the seam to stretch.
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Marita Kinnula said...
I was winding woolly nylon the other night by my sewing maschine, which wasn't very easy but that's an other story, took off most off the tension so that the thread run almost on it's own and also loosened the upperthread tension to 3(pfaff) and stiched with twin-needle on my DD's fleece wrap blouse, I had the hem's turned up with Steam a Seam first, and the result was really good, just like RTW, no ridges on the seams.
11/8/02 2:41 PM
SansSouci572 said...
I have read to wind the wooly nylon by hand to the bobbins, so it won't stretch it out. You wind yours on the machine? That would be alot faster. Do you just go really slow?
11/10/02 11:18 PM
Diane Yaghoobian said...
I was wondering why you say to just use woolly in the upper looper? I use it in all the serger threads; it's my favorite serger thread. It's only drawback is that it melts when you iron it (don't ask how I know). I do use it in the bobbin for rare stretchy needs, like sewing bathing suits. I would probably use it to sew undergarments, too. So soft!
12/22/02 10:58 AM
Marita Kinnula said...
Christianne, sorry I have been quite busy this fall, and missed the answering, yes I had to go quite slowly because there isn't actually a place for a cone on the maschine, and one reason why I don't use woolly nylon in my serger is that it's a pain in you know where, to thread and as if this isn't enough it has a hard time to keep the thread where it's supposed to stay and then there are two more things that keep me from using it, it's the melting problem and the price, it isn't cheap in Finland.
12/22/02 5:46 PM
Vivienne said...
I use wooly nylon in upper and lower loopers for knits. Very RTW look and good tension. Have not had good results using it in the bobbin for my straight stitch machine with a twin needle. I guess I need more practice. FYI, I too know the smell of melted wooly nylon.
1/7/05 7:14 PM
Mel.J said...
Thanks for pointing out that you can use it in the needles as well. I haven't tried that & will give it a go. What I actually meant to say was in the loopers (I'll update the tip).
1/8/05 3:20 AM
MessyVirgo said...
Exactly the information I was looking for! Thanks.
8/21/08 4:08 PM
irish lass said...
thank you, have used it many times in the serger, I am about to use it in the bobbin for the first time..
5/8/10 3:36 PM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us