SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Using woolly nylon

Viewed 7779 times
Posted by: Mel.J
photo

 
 
About Mel.J starstar
VIC Australia
Member since: 7/30/02
Reviews written: 36
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 40 people
tips added: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 11/8/02 1:08 AM
Last Updated: 1/8/05 3:20 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 8 people   
Featured in the PR book!
On the overlocker, only use woolly nylon in the loopers.

On the sewing machine, use woolly nylon in the bobbin thread when sewing with a twin-needle to allow the seam to stretch.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
irish lass said...
thank you, have used it many times in the serger, I am about to use it in the bobbin for the first time..
5/8/10 3:36 PM
MessyVirgo said...
Exactly the information I was looking for! Thanks.
8/21/08 4:08 PM
Mel.J said...
Thanks for pointing out that you can use it in the needles as well. I haven't tried that & will give it a go. What I actually meant to say was in the loopers (I'll update the tip).
1/8/05 3:20 AM
Vivienne said...
I use wooly nylon in upper and lower loopers for knits. Very RTW look and good tension. Have not had good results using it in the bobbin for my straight stitch machine with a twin needle. I guess I need more practice. FYI, I too know the smell of melted wooly nylon.
1/7/05 7:14 PM
Marita Kinnula said...
Christianne, sorry I have been quite busy this fall, and missed the answering, yes I had to go quite slowly because there isn't actually a place for a cone on the maschine, and one reason why I don't use woolly nylon in my serger is that it's a pain in you know where, to thread and as if this isn't enough it has a hard time to keep the thread where it's supposed to stay and then there are two more things that keep me from using it, it's the melting problem and the price, it isn't cheap in Finland.
12/22/02 5:46 PM
Diane Yaghoobian said...
I was wondering why you say to just use woolly in the upper looper? I use it in all the serger threads; it's my favorite serger thread. It's only drawback is that it melts when you iron it (don't ask how I know). I do use it in the bobbin for rare stretchy needs, like sewing bathing suits. I would probably use it to sew undergarments, too. So soft!
12/22/02 10:58 AM
SansSouci572 said...
I have read to wind the wooly nylon by hand to the bobbins, so it won't stretch it out. You wind yours on the machine? That would be alot faster. Do you just go really slow?
11/10/02 11:18 PM
Marita Kinnula said...
I was winding woolly nylon the other night by my sewing maschine, which wasn't very easy but that's an other story, took off most off the tension so that the thread run almost on it's own and also loosened the upperthread tension to 3(pfaff) and stiched with twin-needle on my DD's fleece wrap blouse, I had the hem's turned up with Steam a Seam first, and the result was really good, just like RTW, no ridges on the seams.
11/8/02 2:41 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

More Info
Sewing Workshop Joplin Pullover Pattern

Sewing Workshop Joplin Pullover Pattern

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.