SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Record what you sew

Viewed 5195 times
Posted by: LiZ
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About LiZ starstarstar
Member since: 7/31/03
Reviews written: 140
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 49 people
tips added: 4
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 3/29/04 11:08 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 13 people   
Featured in the PR book!
Sewing for children? In a small notebook write down
1. Garment sewn
2. Fabric used
3. Pattern used
4. Size used
5. Any alterations you madeto width, length or size.
6. Date sewn.

I did this when I sewed for my children as I passed down clothes etc and when I wanted to make another garment I could easily decide what size to make, if the garment needed to be larger than the last one I made for that child etc.
I was remended of this yesterday talking to my daughter [ who lives interstate]. Shed asked me to make some clothes for grandson and said to make tops the same size as last time and pants to make 2" longer. I have to work out what I made last time. I havent seen them for over 3 months. I guess I will have to start a notebook for the grandchildren.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
SewVeryTall said...
Great tip! I keep track of everything I make in a book. It is rewarding to write down a finished project. Also, months or years later, to be able to look back and see when you made something, is very helpful. I even like to include the cost, and time spent.
3/30/04 3:55 AM
lhstitcher said...
Thank you Knitter! I think it's a great idea, I'm going to include this in our beginner's sewing in 4H, everything is so new to them I think it would really help them track their progress. I'm starting my own this week!
3/30/04 12:39 PM
Liana said...
I've done this for quite a few years, and it's amazing how often I refer back if only to see what color thread I used if I need to mend. The record keeping was what I hated about 4H sewing too! Now I enjoy it.
3/31/04 2:44 AM
Liana said...
Just thought of something else. I use steno notebooks and put in a swatch too, and number the pages. On a ribbon tag in my garment, I include the page #, date finished, care code, etc. Makes it easier to refer to my notes, as I know where to look.
3/31/04 2:47 AM
Annette H said...
I have a list of all the things I have sewn since my youth (not the curtains and pillowcases) - and it gives me satisfaction to look at it from time to time to encourage myself to get going again.
3/31/04 4:39 AM
ncegbu said...
I also include a picture of the garment or item. It's nice to have a picture of the garment on the person you made it for, if possible.
3/31/04 9:44 AM
JuneB said...
This is a wonderful idea...guess I have missed the first 30 years of sewing but it will certainly help with the future 30 years... Thanks for the lovely tip :)
4/11/04 4:46 PM
katieb said...
Thanks for all the tips. I started a book recently, but haven't kept it upto date. I will go off now and sort it out. I never thought of writing the thread colour down. it makes good sense . Thanks to you all
4/12/04 4:22 AM
fiddlestick chic said...
Great tip! thanks! I have a knitting notebook because I normally design my own sweaters for me and the grandchildren ( top down knitting) and I forget what I did from time to time. They make the cutest knitting note books where you can put your swatch and all info , but I never considered that in sewing! How much I am learning from everyone on this site since I got back into sewing! All you sewers are SO sharing, I am so grateful for every review and tip I receive!
5/29/09 6:54 PM
craftygamma said...
Great idea! I need to do that for my grandbaby sewing projects, because memory fades.
11/20/09 7:39 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Lolita Patterns Sugar Plum Pattern

Lolita Patterns Sugar Plum Pattern

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Hooded Scarf Pattern (JC307HS)

Jamie Christina Hooded Scarf Pattern (JC307HS)

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.