SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Record what you sew

Viewed 5250 times
Posted by: LiZ
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About LiZ starstarstar
Member since: 7/31/03
Reviews written: 140
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 49 people
tips added: 4
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 3/29/04 11:08 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 13 people   
Featured in the PR book!
Sewing for children? In a small notebook write down
1. Garment sewn
2. Fabric used
3. Pattern used
4. Size used
5. Any alterations you madeto width, length or size.
6. Date sewn.

I did this when I sewed for my children as I passed down clothes etc and when I wanted to make another garment I could easily decide what size to make, if the garment needed to be larger than the last one I made for that child etc.
I was remended of this yesterday talking to my daughter [ who lives interstate]. Shed asked me to make some clothes for grandson and said to make tops the same size as last time and pants to make 2" longer. I have to work out what I made last time. I havent seen them for over 3 months. I guess I will have to start a notebook for the grandchildren.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Budo Bear Designs


Asian Designs
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
SewVeryTall said...
Great tip! I keep track of everything I make in a book. It is rewarding to write down a finished project. Also, months or years later, to be able to look back and see when you made something, is very helpful. I even like to include the cost, and time spent.
3/30/04 3:55 AM
lhstitcher said...
Thank you Knitter! I think it's a great idea, I'm going to include this in our beginner's sewing in 4H, everything is so new to them I think it would really help them track their progress. I'm starting my own this week!
3/30/04 12:39 PM
Liana said...
I've done this for quite a few years, and it's amazing how often I refer back if only to see what color thread I used if I need to mend. The record keeping was what I hated about 4H sewing too! Now I enjoy it.
3/31/04 2:44 AM
Liana said...
Just thought of something else. I use steno notebooks and put in a swatch too, and number the pages. On a ribbon tag in my garment, I include the page #, date finished, care code, etc. Makes it easier to refer to my notes, as I know where to look.
3/31/04 2:47 AM
Annette H said...
I have a list of all the things I have sewn since my youth (not the curtains and pillowcases) - and it gives me satisfaction to look at it from time to time to encourage myself to get going again.
3/31/04 4:39 AM
ncegbu said...
I also include a picture of the garment or item. It's nice to have a picture of the garment on the person you made it for, if possible.
3/31/04 9:44 AM
JuneB said...
This is a wonderful idea...guess I have missed the first 30 years of sewing but it will certainly help with the future 30 years... Thanks for the lovely tip :)
4/11/04 4:46 PM
katieb said...
Thanks for all the tips. I started a book recently, but haven't kept it upto date. I will go off now and sort it out. I never thought of writing the thread colour down. it makes good sense . Thanks to you all
4/12/04 4:22 AM
fiddlestick chic said...
Great tip! thanks! I have a knitting notebook because I normally design my own sweaters for me and the grandchildren ( top down knitting) and I forget what I did from time to time. They make the cutest knitting note books where you can put your swatch and all info , but I never considered that in sewing! How much I am learning from everyone on this site since I got back into sewing! All you sewers are SO sharing, I am so grateful for every review and tip I receive!
5/29/09 6:54 PM
craftygamma said...
Great idea! I need to do that for my grandbaby sewing projects, because memory fades.
11/20/09 7:39 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Paradiso Designs Kimono Jacket Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Kimono Jacket Formula Pattern

Buy Now
The Whimsy Bag

The Whimsy Bag

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.