SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Wee Waistband (5/8")

Viewed 5322 times
Posted by: ShereeSews
photo

 
 
About ShereeSews star
MI USA
Member since: 5/12/03
Reviews written: 25
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 13 people
tips added: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 3/30/04 8:34 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 35 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Wee Waistband - 5/8" finished, therefore wee or smaller than normal.

This waistband does NOT have interfacing, instead it uses the encased seam allowance as a center filling for support.

Basically this band becomes one giant hong-kong finished seam allowance! Is that a good visual?

I find it softer, and enjoy the minimal 5/8" width, rather than the common 1 1/4" - 1 1/2" width interfaced ones found in most patterns. You will end up with 4 thicknesses of fabric as a waistband.

Cut a 2 1/4" wide band along the selvedge of your fabric. (Only if your selvedge is decent looking and supportive - because it will show on inside of your garment. And there are some bad looking selvedges out there! )

Make the length, your current waist measurement, plus 1" ease, plus 3" (for 2 end seam allowances and a 1 3/4" underlap for closures)

Fit pants properly, trim waistline top edge to 5/8". Stitch new band to right side of garment, allowing 5/8" extension seam for short center front edge, and 2 3/8" for underlap and seam at other edge. (these two extensions equal the previously mentioned 3" excess in band length)

Stitch short ends (center front, and underlap)

Wrap band around to the inside, encasing all seam allowances, Selvedge will wrap and extend 1/4" below seamline. Now you can catch the selvedge in when topstitching in the ditch, on the front of your garment.


<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


24 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Mandolin82 said...
What a great idea - I'll have to try this. Thanks!
3/30/04 10:47 AM
lhstitcher said...
Sheree, thank you for this tip, I've wondered why you couldn't just use what's already there, makes sense to me, and a nice finish!
3/30/04 12:28 PM
els said...
I have this done before and it also acts as a guide for the dry cleaner ( if the contents of the fabric is woven in the selvedge)
3/30/04 12:47 PM
MarilynB said...
I have been using this technique for a couple of years in most of my skirts. It is flattering since it makes the upper torso appear longer if you are short-waisted. If you snoop shop you will notice this used on many well-made skirts.
3/30/04 1:05 PM
Jill Giard said...
This is a great tip! I will definately use it the next time I have to construct a "standard" waistband. Thanks for sharing
3/30/04 3:27 PM
Meredith P said...
This is such a great tip! I'll use this on my next pair of pants or skirt. A great alternative to waistband, facing, or bias binding.
3/30/04 5:57 PM
Liana said...
This is the method I use too. It really helps when you're very short-waisted.
3/31/04 2:35 AM
Annette H said...
Just wondering - is this a very soft waistband? If so, wouldn't it have a tendency to roll? I have always done what the pattern instructions told me to do.
3/31/04 4:46 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great tip!! I have seen this in many RTW and wanted to duplicate. You have helped me tremendously with this tip.
3/31/04 5:46 AM
Eider said...
I have used this on some of my waistbands, especially a skirt cut on the bias and it is so comfortable . No it doesn't roll because there is not enough width to roll . I just love this technique and it is so easy .
3/31/04 2:45 PM
Lorraine Fitzjohn said...
Does this have a small button closure cause i,m thinking a buttonhole would be to hard to do on this thin waistband
4/4/04 7:40 AM
AnneM said...
Interesting idea - and could be good if you are running short on fabric. I'll have to try it. I'm glad Val linked to this, in her review.
4/5/04 7:58 PM
ShereeSews said...
Lorraine, I put a buttonhole on the underlap portion, not the front of the waistband. My Viking machine can handle the 4 thicknesses very well, but of course, you should practice a buttonhole first, using 4 layers. Then I sew my button on the backside of the top waistband and it is camouflaged.
4/7/04 9:05 AM
Deepika said...
Sheree this is a GREAT TIP! I am adding it to the knowledgebase. Thanks!
4/7/04 10:44 AM
JuneB said...
This is great! Will definitely use it in the future, as I age, I value the comfort of a narrower waistband and especially one that will not roll!
4/11/04 4:34 PM
jlg said...
Sheree, great tip. I did it on a pair of pants and loved it.
4/14/04 7:09 AM
PVA said...
Sheree, this is awsome! I hate putting in waistbands, and this is definitely going to change that, Big Time! Thank you for this, I really appreciate It! 8^D)
6/4/04 10:07 AM
Diana M said...
Great tip -- I'm looking forward to trying it!
7/15/04 10:32 AM
Elisabetha said...
What a great idea; many thanks; it sound much more comfortable without interfacing;will try it out with my next pair.
8/24/04 3:59 AM
2smiley said...
good information
10/20/04 9:49 PM
Cambric Tea said...
Thank you so very much. You have simplified my life. (:
9/8/05 1:29 PM
dollieo said...
i also think it is a great idea.
11/29/06 7:08 PM
southtxstar said...
I can't wait to try this on my next project.
7/31/07 10:09 AM
dei said...
my full figure is most comfortabe with narrow waistband--i willbe sure to use this idea!-thank you
2/23/08 2:14 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Jackets for Real People DVD

Jackets for Real People DVD

Buy Now
SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern

SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.